Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Economics Portal

:

Building the Research Collection

Starting Point for Economics Research

Economics

picture pages of data
picture of data and map of data

U.S. and International Data

Economics Collection Emphases

The economics collection is strong in microeconomic and macroeconomic theory, econometrics, economic development, monetary economics, industrial organization, international trade, public sector economics, labor, finance, and international economics.

The management and economics collections overlap strongly in areas of finance, industrial organization and international trade. Data collections include major business and economic collections via the Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) along with International Monetary Fund, World Bank, U.N.  and other data.

E-books for Economics

E-books are a growing part of our Economics collection. While many print books are still purchased, e-book purchases particularly make sense with titles unlikely to be read cover-to-cover, but, instead, read as individual chapters -- much as users read online journal articles.  Reference resources, such as New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History, used for fast look-up of data or information are now purchased almost exclusively as e-books. 

E-books are part of some key economic collections such as OECD iLibrary

For more information on the Library’s e-book selection, see Selection Criteria and the E-Books at Boston College guide. The Library is conscious that the e-book industry is rapidly changing and, as a result, that our policies and selection criteria regarding e-books will inevitably evolve. The Library is interested in your views on e-books, and especially your usage of them. 

New Resources

More on Collections

For more information about how the library collections at Boston College are being developed, go to the Collections page.

Help Us Build the Collections

Please feel free to recommend items for the library collections.