Economics Collections

Economics Department Collection Development Policy

The Economics collection serves the needs of the Boston College Morrissey College Department of Economics, as well as the related needs of researchers and students in the other social and applied sciences. The Economics bibliographer selects materials based on user requests, curricular needs and knowledge of the discipline. The bibliographers collaborate with the Department of Economics community and purchase requests by faculty and graduate students whenever possible.

Disciplinary Scope and Collecting Emphases

Teaching and research support for faculty and grad students and curricular support for undergraduate students are the primary goals. Economics as a discipline cuts across many subject areas including but not limited to:

The depth and breadth of selected disciplinary areas collected depends on the Department of Economic’s areas of research and curricular needs as well.

EDI Collections Development Statement

In support of the general collection development efforts of the Boston College Libraries the Economics Librarian is committed to purchasing material authored by a wide variety of voices directly engaged with social and ethical issues of diversity in economics. The Economics Librarian especially seeks academic materials that attend to the economic benefits of diversity and inclusion. Addressing historical imbalances is a priority in the development of our collections of Economics literature, which is reflected in three key priorities. First, to acquire new publications from authors of different backgrounds on diverse topics. Second, to add past publications to the collections which were previously excluded at time of original issue. And third, to cultivate greater awareness of diversity, inclusion, and issues of equity through the purchase and support of relevant electronic resources. To further this goal and aid in discovery, selected works will be highlighted on the economics libguide.

Format Selection

Format decisions follow the General Collection Development Policy. We do consider preferences of patrons, curricular needs, and other factors.

• Journals are purchased with perpetual, electronic access whenever possible. Online back files are purchased to augment available content or replace print versions.
• Monographs are preferably purchased as e-books to support wider access. Exceptions may be made at individual user request.
• Bibliographic databases or indexes are exclusively purchased in electronic format and purchased for the widest possible audience.
• Data resources are purchased to serve the Carroll School of Management or the broader BC community whenever possible.

Language

The majority of selections are for English language material. Acquisitions in other languages are made based on faculty request or a specific need.

Currency

Selection focuses on current scholarship, but retrospective acquisitions are made following changes to the curriculum or other specific needs.

Retention of Materials

Retention follows the General Collection Development Policy.

Acceptance of Gifts

Gifts are accepted according to the General Gifts Policy.