Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Music Portal

:

Building the Collection

Starting point for music research.

Boston College Songs

Songs of Boston College were compiled and arranged by James A. Ecker and first published in 1938 in honor of the Diamond Jubilee of the founding of Boston College, 1863-1938. 

Collection Emphases

The primary purpose of the collection is to support the teaching and research needs of the faculty and students in the Music Department.

The collection includes a wide variety of materials focused on general music history and theory, with an emphasis on early and contemporary music, ethnomusicology and jazz, composition and music theory.   The collection consists primarily of Western music with selective holdings of non-Western music and includes monographs, serials, music scores, sound recordings and videos. Many materials are available electronically.   

Irish Music monographs and sound recordings, housed at the O'Neill Library and at the Irish Music Center in the John J. Burns Library, are of particular interest to students and scholars. 

 

Acquisition of E-Books

A growing percentage of newly published scholarly books are now available in print and electronic formats. When selecting books for the Music collection, print is usually preferred over the electronic format.  However, reference works and collections of essays  are sometimes purchased in the electronic format.  If a print or e-book has been added to the collection, users may always request acquisition of the title in the alternate format.

For more information on the Library’s e-book selection, see Selection Criteria and the E-Books at Boston College guide. The Library is conscious that the e-book industry is rapidly changing and, as a result, that our policies and selection criteria regarding e-books will inevitably evolve. The Library is interested in your views on e-books, and especially your usage of them. Please send any feedback to Nina Bogdanovsky at bogdanon@bc.edu

More on Collections

For information about how the library collections at Boston College are being developed, go to the Collections page.

Help Us Build the Collections

Please feel free to recommend items for the library collections by e-mailing Nina Bogdanovsky at bogdanon@bc.edu