French Language and Literature

Find Articles

French and Francophone Resources

Indexes & Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary database providing citations to articles in more than 1800 scholarly and general interest journals. Many journals are full text or full image. This is an excellent place to begin a search for periodical articles.
Brepols Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive and current bibliographes of the European Middle Ages (c.450-1500). Search both bibliographies simultaneously.
Electronic Enlightenment This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browseable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long eighteenth century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Coverage includes letters and documents, document sources such as manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index (U Iowa)
Bibliographical database covering journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
N.B.: Books written by a single author are not indexed in Feminae.

FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
Open access archive combining the INIST's databases Francis (primarily Humanities and Social Sciences) and Pascal (Science, Technology and Medicine).

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Enables users to access citations in journal, book, and reviews databases; provides online access to Paul Oskar Krisetller's Iter Italicum (a finding list of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts); provides access to the International Directory of Scholars
LiMag : Littératures du Maghreb
Free website featuring a searchable database of citations as well as full text of theses and dissertations on literature of the Maghreb.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of areas related to the nature and use of language. Major topics include phonetics, phonology, syntax and semantics
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors (novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers) from every age and literary discipline.
Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new window
This database provides direct access to a wide collection of original medieval manuscripts that describe travel - real and imaginary - in the Middle Ages. These sources tell us much about the attitudes and preconceptions of people across Europe in the medieval period, shedding light on issues of race, economics, trade, militarism, politics, literature and science. The project combines: a) Multiple manuscript sources detailing the journeys of famous travelers from Prester John and Marco Polo to Sir John Mandeville and John Capgrave; b)Translations and supporting materials (all of which are fully searchable); c) Maps showing the routes of the travelers; d) Introductory essays by leading scholars.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Medieval Studies and Renaissance & Reformation
Peer-reviewed, annotated bibliography, browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Persée : Collection Littérature
Open access journals archive maintained by the Ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche and hosted by the Université Lumière Lyon 2.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to more than 2 million dissertations and masters theses in all fields produced in North American colleges and universities from 1861 to the present, and from around the world since 1988.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database. Use it for author, subject and citation searching in a wide array of disciplines. Find H-Index information, compare journal impact data, and analyze publication and citation trends. Scopus provides comprehensive coverage of a large number of journals from 1996 - present, with added older content.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Index Online is a database of millions of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.

Web of Science
Web of Science includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Science Citation Index. All three sections may be searched together or in any combination.

Searching the MLA International Bibliography

For help searching the MLA database, try the video tutorials found here.

E-Journal Collections

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly ebooks and journals across disciplines. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full-text access to a large number of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Finding Newspapers

Finding Newspapers
Describes sources of current, contemporary (recent past), and historical newspapers available in print or electronically via the Boston College Libraries and/or on the Web.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
A collection of local, regional, and international news sources. Additionally it provides access to many sources of foreign news in translation.

Where's the Article?

If you search a database and the full article's not there, don't despair. Look for the "FindIt" button: or FindIt@BC. Find It will offer help including:

If BC has the full text in another database, you will be taken to a list of databases for the full text.
If BC subscribes to the print journal where the article appeared, the Catalog will say Find in Library and you can check which library or libraries may have the year/issue you need and where it is located.
If the article is not available online or in print at BC, use the link to Request the item. We can usually get the article from another library within a few days and email it to you.

Keeping Current

Many databases and electronic journals provide automated current awareness services which email newly published article citations directly to you or send them to a feed manager. Alert services can be customized to keep researchers abreast of current developments and publications in one or many fields of interest.

Services such as Web of Science (Science Citation Index; Social Science Citation Index; Arts & Humanities Citation Index), tracking new articles in over 8,500 research journals, are multi-disciplinary.

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

French Language and Literature

Find Articles

Indexes & Databases

Searching the MLA International Bibliography

E-Journal Collections

Finding Newspapers

Where's the Article?

Keeping Current