African & African Diaspora Studies

Black Studies Center brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies, and the Black Literature Index.

Black Thought and Culture is a collection of non-fiction writings by major American black leadersteachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figurescovering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trail transcripts.

Comprehensive collection of scholarship available online focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Includes:
* Africana
* Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895
* Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present
* Black Women in America, Second Edition
* African American National Biography
* Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography
and other key resources from Oxford's reference program, e.g., the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, the Oxford Companion to Black British History, and selected articles from other major reference titles.

eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. The Cultural Summaries provide concise and comprehensive overviews of social and cultural norms all over the world. Each culture has it's own collection of documents for in depth study of a particular people.

Includes biographies of prominent African Americans and the Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography

Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.