African & African Diaspora Studies

African American Studies collection at Films on Demand
Search specific topics, events, and people, or click "subjects," "sociology," then "African American Studies."

Black Film Archive is a living register of Black films. In its current iteration, it showcases Black films made from 1915 to 1979 . Some films are accessible through openly available archival collections or youtube, others are available via commercial vendors.

The African Activist Archive is preserving and making available online the records of activism in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s. The website includes:
---growing online archive of historical materials - pamphlets, newsletters, leaflets, buttons, posters, T-shirts, photographs, and audio and video recordings
---personal remembrances and interviews with activists
---an international directory of collections deposited in libraries and archives

This exhibit was done in conjunction with the publication of The African-American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture. This site highlights four areas - Colonization, Abolition, Migrations, and the WPA.

This site focuses on pamphlets from the Daniel A.P. Murray Collection and presents a review of African-American history and culture spanning almost one hundred years.

Website created by the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture and the New York Public Library; includes essays, images, maps, media, and bibliographies related to "these men, women and children from Sudan in the north to Mozambique in the south [who] Africanized the Indian Ocean world and helped shape the societies they entered and made their own."

A searchable calendar of African-American history

Annotated guide to online resources on the history of Canada's Black community

This site from PBS is a companion to the film The Black Press and covers African American journalism. The film is available in the O'Neill Library Media Center (PN4882.5.B55 1998).

This site contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts and 500 black-and-white photographs of former
slaves.

The selected images tell a story of struggle, community challenges, and hope for Black Miami in the 20th century. Through a combination of personal papers, books, professional photography, fliers and reports of civil rights activities this exhibition on Black Miami presents a sobering glimpse at what was and illustrates a path of civic involvement and pride.

Cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

This database includes family photos, early African American educational Institutions, and personal collections highlighting the life of African Americans in the 19th century.

The women writers database includes the full-text of books and pamphlets published prior to 1920.

This site from the National Archives and Records Administration provides historical analysis of the Proclamation, a transcription of the document and actual images.

This site contains secondary documents written about Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr, as well as primary documents written during his life.

Black Film Research Online (BFRO) is a resource guide for the study of Black film culture. We define Black film culture quite broadly to include the works of Black filmmakers from across the African Diaspora; the production, distribution, and exhibition of films by, for and about Blacks; issues of Black spectatorship and reception; and images of Black people in film from the invention of the medium in the late 19th century to the present.

The Nordiska Afrikainstitutet is a center for research, documentation and information on modern Africa in the Nordic region. Based in Uppsala, Sweden, the Institute is dedicated to providing timely, critical and alternative research and analysis of Africa in the Nordic countries and to strengthen the co-operation between African and Nordic researchers.

"The Louverture Project (TLP) collects and promotes knowledge, analysis, and understanding of the Haitian revolution of 1791–1804."