Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Biblical Studies

:

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

The first item is linked to the Reference section of the Oxford Biblical Studies Online's website. This section is composed of dictionaries and encyclopedias which can be searched as a single collection. The other items on this page are print titles of some of the more important theological dictionaries and encyclopedias.  Other print reference resources may be found by browsing the reference shelves containing the print titles listed below.

 

Print resources:

  • Anchor Bible Dictionary
    O'Neill Reference BS 440 .A54 1992
    This 6 volume dictionary is an excellent resource for finding information about biblical figures, places, and themes. It also includes extensive articles on books of the Bible.
  • New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible
    O'Neill Reference BS440 N445 2006
    An excellent 5 volume resource for information on biblical persons, places, things, theological concepts, and more.
  • HarperCollins Bible Dictionary
    O'Neill Reference BS440 .H235 1996
    A one volume resource, long a standard reference work.
  • Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament
    Theology and Ministry Library Reference BS440 .B5713
    O'Neill Library Reference BS440 .B5713
    A multivolume set, this resource provides extensive linguistic and theological discussions of key Hebrew and Aramaic terms in the Old Testament.
  • Theological Dictionary of the New Testament
    Theology and Ministry Library Reference PA881 .T4713 1985
    O'Neill Library Reference PA881 .T4713 1985
    A multivolume set, this resource provides extensive linguistic and theological discussions of key Greek terms in the New Testament.