Art & Architecture History

Images

Researching a topic in Art History using the resources of Boston College

JSTOR Images This link opens in a new window
A database of more than 1.3 million digital images. It covers many time periods and cultures and represent architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, etc. Users are required to create a personal account to access this database off campus.
Bridgeman Education This link opens in a new window
The Bridgeman Art Library, with over 600,000 high resolution images of art, history and culture from global museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use.

Google Images
Search millions of images on the Web! You can limit your search on the Advanced Image Search page by size (small, medium, or large) color, filetypes (.jpg, .gif, .png) and by domains (.edu , .gov, .org, etc).

Open Access Image Libraries
Museums and archives that provide unrestricted downloads of hIgh-resolution images that are out of copyright.
Paris Museums Online
Digitized images from fourteen Paris museums.

Ancient Terracottas from South Italy and Sicily in the J. Paul Getty Museum
Sixty terracottas are investigated here, comprising a selection of significant types from the Getty’s larger collection—life-size sculptures, statuettes, heads and busts, altars, and decorative appliqués.

Pieter Bruegel the Elder at the Kunsthistorisches Museum Vienna
Website showcases twelve paintings by Pieter Bruegel the Elder at the Kunthistorisches Museum in Vienna.
Pieter Brueghel
The purpose of this website is to serve as a place where information about the artist Pieter Bruegel the Elder (c. 1525 - 1569) can be gathered, shared, and debated among scholars.
Jan Brueghel
The purpose of this website is to serve as a place where information about the artist Jan Bruegel (1568-1625) can be gathered, shared, and debated among scholars.
Frans Hals catalog raisonné
Frans Hals The Complete Work, 1989, a catalog raisonné of Hals works by Claus Grimm
Meet Vermeer
Vermeer’s complete works. 36 paintings from 18 museums across 7 different countries.
The Leiden Collection
Founded by Thomas S. Kaplan and Daphne Recanati Kaplan, The Leiden Collection, consisting of more than 250 paintings and drawings, is among the largest and most important collections of seventeenth-century Dutch art in private hands.
USA NGA Dutch Paintings of the 17th Century
Numbering more than 150 paintings, the collection comprises outstanding examples of the portraits, genre scenes, landscapes, marine paintings, still lifes, and biblical and mythological scenes.
Essential Vermeer
The most comprehensive resource on Vermeer on the Internet.

Watercolour World
Documentary watercolors painted between 1400 and 1900. Currently online only database comprises around 80,000 images drawn from private and public collections worldwide.