Art & Architecture History

Costumes & Fashion

Researching a topic in Art History using the resources of Boston College

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a database of more than 1.3 million digital images. It covers many time periods and cultures and represent architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, etc. Users are required to create a personal account to access this database off campus.
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Berg Fashion Library is the leading resource of fashion studies for researchers in the interdisciplinary areas of fashion, museum studies, cultural studies, anthropology, and more.

Fashion at the V and A (Victoria and Albert Museum)
Spanning four centuries, the V&A’s Fashion collection is the largest and most comprehensive collection of dress in the world. Thematic essays and reading lists provide entry to the museum's collections.
Costume Institute (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
Search sample images of the a collection, consisting of more than 30,000 costumes and accessories spanning five continents and as many centuries.
Costume Design Research Guide (NYPL)
Performance costume design research guide from the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts
Museum of Fine Arts, Boston: Collections Search Results
Search images of the MFA's Textile Arts and Costume collections
Museum at FIT
Online collections from the Fashion Institute of Technology in New York
Fashion Plate Collection from the University of Washington
Illustrations from the leading French, British, American, and other continental fashion journals of the 19th century and early 20th century

Harper's Bazaar This link opens in a new window
Americas first fashion magazine, from 1867 to present.

Vogue Archive
Entire run of Vogue magazine, U.S. edition, (1892-present), reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Includes all pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs.
Costume Page
The personal library of costume and costuming-related links created by Julia Zetterberg Sardo, 1995-2007
Europeana Fashion
Europeana Fashion portal brings together more than 30 public and private archives and museums from 13 European countries in order to collect and give public access to high quality digital fashion content, ranging from historical dresses to accessories, catwalk photographs, drawings, sketches, videos, and fashion catalogues.