Skip to Main Content

Find
- Find More
Services
- More Library Services

Get Help
- Ask A Librarian
  
  Chat With Us
  
  Chat with us
  
  Chat with us
  
  Chat with us
  
  Ask a question 24/7 and a librarian from BC or another institution will help you.
  
  Email Us
  
  Email us
  
  Send us a question and we'll get back to you within a day.
  
  Meet With Us
  
  Meet with us
  
  Request an appointment in person or online with a subject librarian.
  
  Visit Us
  
  Visit us
  
  Visit our library locations.
  All Help
About
- Libraries
  
  O'Neill Library
  
  O'Neill Library
  Main library
  
  Reference: 617-552-4472
  
  Bapst Library
  
  Bapst Library
  Art and architecture
  
  Reference: 617-552-3200
  
  Burns Library
  
  Burns Library
  Special collections
  
  Reference: 617-552-4861
  
  Educational Resource Center
  
  Educational Resource Center
  Curriculum collection
  
  Reference: 617-552-4920
  
  Law Library
  
  Law Library
  Legal research & scholarship
  
  Reference: 617-552-4434
  
  Social Work Library
  
  Social Work Library
  Social services collection
  
  Reference: 617-552-0109
  
  Theology & Ministry Library
  
  Theology & Ministry Library
  Theology & biblical studies
  
  Reference: 617-552-6553
  
  O'Connor Library
  
  O'Connor Library
  Earth & environmental sciences
  
  Contact Enid Karr
  
  Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies
  
  Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies
  Jesuit studies collection
  
  Reference: 617-552-2568
  - About us
  - Hours
  - Contact Us
  - Getting Here
  - Policies
  - Gifts
  - Mission
  - Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion
  - Employment
  - Advertise Your Event
  - Virtual Tours
  More About the Libraries

Library hours for

Today's Library Hours
Library	Hours
O'Neill Library
Bapst Library
Burns Library
Educational Resource Center
Law Library
Social Work Library
Theology & Ministry Library

(*) The O'Neill Library first floor will remain open for use until 2:00 am.

How crowded is O'Neill right now?

My Accounts
- - Library catalog account
    
    Renew books; check due dates; save records
  - Interlibrary Loan account
    
    Request books, articles, and more from other libraries; review due dates
  - Burns Library account
    
    Register to research, schedule visits, and order copies at Burns Library
  - OverDrive account
    
    Borrow and renew popular ebooks and audiobooks
  More about Accounts

HIST 1713 - Enduring Questions: Environmental Crisis

:

Books and Background Information

Research sources and tools for approaching environmental crises in historical perspective

Background Sources

Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
Encyclopedia of Environmental Change
Comprehensive renewable energy 2nd ed
Access Science
General encyclopedia for the sciences.
Africa: An Encyclopedia of Culture and Society
Cambridge World History
Includes an excellent section on the Industrial revolution and climate change. Treats history globally, rather than country by country.

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Histories of topics and countries. Very detailed bibliographies.

Japan Encyclopedias
An assortment of Wikipedia-like sources on Japan from the library catalog
Encyclopedia of the anthropocene
In depth encyclopedia articles on a wide range of topics covering human influence on the earth.

Finding Books

BC Library Catalog
Cross-disciplinary searching of online and locally-available resources including print books, e-books, journal articles, and digital collections

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Search WorldCat to find materials in thousands of libraries worldwide, including the BC Libraries, the Boston Library Consortium (BLC), and The Center for Research Libraries. Current BC faculty, staff, and students may request items from other libraries through WorldCat.

Interlibrary Loan
Request items through ILL.

Advanced Book Search

Search the Boston College Libraries online discovery tool, to find books and other materials. Try some of the following subject headings:

"aral sea"

"electronic waste"

"whales"

Search by Keyword(s) in Subject

Go to Advanced Search for more search options.

Last Updated: Mar 11, 2024 11:46 AM
Subjects: Course Guides, Environmental Studies, Theology
Tags: HIST1713, UNAS1709

Boston College Libraries

140 Commonwealth Ave
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467

O'Neill Circulation:

O'Neill Reference:

Administration:

Hours

Today's Library Hours
Library	Hours
O'Neill Library
Bapst Library
Burns Library
Educational Resource Center
Law Library
Social Work Library
Theology & Ministry Library

(*) The O'Neill Library first floor will remain open for use until 2:00 am.

Copyright © 2018 Trustees of Boston College