Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Collection Development for Education in the Boston College Libraries

:

Scope and Collection Emphases

Criteria for collecting and maintaining materials in the subject area of Education, with links to general library collection policies.

Guide to the Education Collections

The primary purpose of the education collection is to support the teaching and research of the discipline of education.  The collection primarily serves the needs of the Lynch School of Education and Human Development faculty and students, and more broadly other BC faculty and students, staff, and the BC community.  A major focus of the collection is on educational materials pertaining to the US, however, there is a growing need to add international materials in education theory and practice of other nations.  

Essential Publishers:

Overall materials published by highly reputable academic press and commercial publishers are preferred.

Out of scope for the O’Neill collection are curriculum materials: games, elementary or secondary textbooks, individual tests, workbooks, curriculum guides (However, consult the Educational Resource Center Collection Statement for its collecting in these areas). Popular works.

Disciplinary Scope & Collecting Emphases

The Education collection supports all areas of the discipline, but with particular emphasis on Counseling, Developmental, and Educational Psychology (CDEP), Educational Leadership & Higher Education (ELHE), Measurement, Evaluation, Statistics, and Assessment (MESA), and the closely related department of some limited aspects of Teaching, Curriculum, and Society (TCS).

Given the research interests of the Education Department, the major areas of collection focus include:

  • Education Leadership
  • Catholic Education
  • International Education 
  • Measurement, Evaluation and Statistics
  • Counseling Psychology; Developmental and Educational Psychology
  • Educational Theory 
  • Educational Philosophy

Materials are also purchased to support all areas of the curriculum.