Skip to main content

Theatre and Dance Portal


Getting Started with Research in Theatre and Dance

Key Resources

In-Depth Research Guides

Database Highlights

North American Theatre Online
North American Theatre Online contains tens of thousands of records for people, places, theatres, productions, production companies, and more. It also includes more than 40,000 pages of full-text reference works and content from hundreds of top theatre Web resources.




Dance in Video
Dance in Video features some of the most influential dance performers and companies together with dozens of documentaries, interviews, and dance instruction videos. The database provides coverage in breadth and depth for modern dance forms, and is valuable for researching dance history, dance analysis, dance instruction.




Drama Online
This database includes scholarly editions of Shakespeare – the Arden Shakespeare Series; realist works from Ibsen and Chekhov; foreign works in translation; comic drama from Oscar Wilde and Noël Coward; modern classics by such playwrights as Caryl Churchill, Simon Stephens, Edward Bond, Alan Ayckbourn, Christopher Hampton, Brian Friel, John Osborne, David Greig, David Harrower, April De Angelis, David Hare, Anthony Neilson, Shelagh Stephenson and David Eldridge among many others; plays by very contemporary writers including Polly Stenham, Katori Hall and Lucy Prebble as well as the works of theatre companies such as Complicite and Filter.

Subject Guide

Brendan Rapple
Room 414
O'Neill Library
Boston College

Ph: 617 5524482



Use this forms questions or comments about the BC Libraries or the website. If you have a research question you can also email or chat with a librarian.

All fields are optional.