This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Mathematics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

Mathematics   Tags: mathematics  

This guide highlights quick reference sources and major journals and indexes.
Last Updated: Jan 30, 2014 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/mathematics Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Help

Mathematicians work increasingly with interdisciplinary resources in the areas:
Biology
Computer Science
General Science Resources
Physics
For help with your specific topic contact me via the contact information on the right. - Barbara Mento , Mathematics Librarian.

News

University News


Boston College Mathematician Maksym Fedorchuk Awarded Prestigious Sloan Research Fell

 

 

Chen Earns NSF Honor

Assistant Professor of Mathematics Dawei Chen, whose research focuses on topics in algebraic geometry, has received a CAREER award from the National Science Foundation, the agency’s most prestigious grant for junior faculty. 

Training Mass. math teachers

Faculty from the Lynch School of Education and the Mathematics Department have been awarded a $1.6 million National Science Foundation grant to train and support math teachers for high-need school districts in Massachusetts.BC Chronicle

      

    Find Articles

    Most frequently used databases which index current and historic articles and other publications in the field:

    • MathSciNet  Icon
      The most comprehensive indexing source online for scholarly Mathematics resources by the American Mathematical Society. Includes online access to the print titles Current Mathematical Publications and Mathematical Reviews.
    • Web of Science  Icon
      Indexes core literature in the sciences including mathematics, applied mathematics, interdisciplinary applications, biology and computer science. Cited reference searching feature.
    • Zentralblatt MATH  Icon
      Provides coverage of international mathematical research published in the years 1868 through the present in the areas of pure mathematics (e.g. algebra, logic, topology, geometry, probability theory, statistics, numerical mathematics).
    • MathNet
      An Internet Information Service for Mathematicians (information about publications, software and data collections, teaching and research activities, but also organizational and bibliographical information) by the German Academic Network Organization.
    • Current Index to Statistics Extended Database  Icon
      CIS Extended Database fully indexes over 160 core journals in statistics, probability, and related fields with selected articles with statistical content since 1975 from about 1200 additional journals (cumulatively) in related fields, and about 11,000 books in statistics published since 1975.
    • INSPEC (Physics Abstracts)  Icon
      Indexes a core group of over 100 titles primarily in applied Mathematics.
    • Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik
      The Jahrbuch Project provides this database of the "Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik" (JFM) and a digital archive of the most important mathematical publications of the period 1868 -1942.

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Barbara Mento
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip