Hispanic Ministry @ Boston College

Finding Articles

This guide introduces the Hispanic Ministry Program at Boston College's School of Theology and Ministry (STM). It also points to important resources for the study of U.S. Latino/a theology and ministry.

About this Page

Research in Latino/a Theology and Ministry may sometimes require interdisciplinary study, meaning that you will find relevant scholarly articles not only in Theology databases, but also in databases in Sociology, Anthropology, Psychology, and other disciplines.

This page introduces a number of important databases and (still relevant) printed indexes.

Where's the Article?

If you search a database and the full article's not there, don't despair. Look for the "FindIt" button: or FindIt@BC. Find It will offer help including:

If BC has the full text in another database, you will be taken to a list of databases for the full text.
If BC subscribes to the print journal where the article appeared, the Catalog will say Find in Library and you can check which library or libraries may have the year/issue you need and where it is located.
If the article is not available online or in print at BC, use the link to Request the item. We can usually get the article from another library within a few days and email it to you.

Indexes and Databases for Latino/a Theological Study

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
With coverage beginning in 1949, this is an index to articles, essays, and book reviews. It also includes a scripture index listing articles on particular scriptural passages.

The Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (1930-2006)
TML maintains paper copies of Catholic Periodical (and Literature) Index in our Bound Periodicals Section. Titles in that section are filed alphabetically.
Religious and Theological Abstracts (1958- 2007)
This resource indexes fewer journals than ATLA Religion Database, but its value lies in the abstracts summarizing the articles. It can be found in TML's Bound Periodicals Section/Main Floor, where titles are shelved alphabetically.

Interdisciplinary Electronic Databases

Humanities & Social Science Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective is an index to articles from nearly 1,200 English-language periodicals, including many of the most important scholarly journals of the 20th century. More than 1,300,000 articles and 240,000 book reviews are included.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to 60 journals in Religion, as well as more than 900 journals (collectively) in Anthropology, Sociology, Psychology, Art, and other disciplines.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database of scholarly and general articles, transcripts and podcasts from the fields of science, technology, history, literature, the arts, religion
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Index Online is a database of millions of articles published in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, across more than 300 years. The database covers 37 key subject areas in the humanities and social sciences.
IngentaConnect This link opens in a new window
Search 322 journals specifically in the arts and Humanities, including Architecture, History, Literature and Religion.

TML Reference Librarian

Jennifer Moran

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Theology and Ministry Library
117 Lake Street
Brighton Campus

617-552-6540

Subjects: Cybersecurity, Theology

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

Hispanic Ministry @ Boston College

Finding Articles

About this Page

Where's the Article?

Indexes and Databases for Latino/a Theological Study

Interdisciplinary Electronic Databases

TML Reference Librarian