Finding Hearings & Prints
Congressional Budget OfficeCongressional Research ServiceGovernment Accountability Office
American State PapersHouse Serial Set PublicationsSenate Serial Set Publications
This is the "Home" page of the "Congressional Publications" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

Congressional Publications  

Provides an overview of the various publications produced by Congress.
Last Updated: Aug 28, 2013 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/congpubs Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Publications at a Glance

Since 1789 the manner in which Congress has operated and the ways in which its various activities have been documented have evolved a great deal.

A few points to keep in mind:

The time period you are interested in and the types of publications you need will determine the format of the material you will be using (electronic, print, or fiche).

However, more and more material is available online, both in public and subscription databases.


Organization of the Guide

To the right is an overview of the most comprehensive full text sources of congressional information.

The tabs at the top of the page link to pages arranged by type of publication

Dates of coverage are detailed under the specific publication tabs.

Members of Congress

  • CQ Congress Collection  
      
      Icon
    Features key Congressional leaders and highlights the committees they serve on. CQ Congress Collection is an excellent database for biographies and analysis of voting patterns of past and present members of Congress.

Public Government Databases

Capitol

  • Thomas
    Source for congressional information at the Library of Congress. Includes coverage of bills, committee reports, and the Congressional Record, as well as links to the House and Senate web pages for voting records.
  • FDsys -Federal Digital System
    Full text 1994 - present

Subscription Databases

  • Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
    Retrospective catalog of U.S. government publications. Coverage 1895-1976.
  • ProQuest Congressional  
      
      Icon
    Historical indexing back to 1789 as well as more recent coverage of committee hearings, prints, House and Senate documents, bills, public laws, and legislative histories. Most comprehensive source for current full-text of congressional publications. Full text, 1985-present.
  • U.S. Serial Set
    Ongoing digitization project; when finished will include full text of the American State Papers and Serial Set from 1789-1980
 

CIS Fiche Library

CIS Microfiche Library

  • Comprehensive coverage of congressional publications from 1985-2007 (Law has fiche holdings from 1970-present); also some historical material
  • Collection is not cataloged but there are bound volumes of indexes in the Gov Docs Ref area
  • ProQuest Congressional can also be used as an index to the fiche holdings

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Barbara Mento
 

Photo Credit

Picture used under a Creative Commons license from Flickr user jcolman.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip