Citations & AbstractsCitations & Abstracts OnlineCitations & Abstracts w/selected Full TextFull Text

Home

      
     Search:
   

 
About This Guide

This guide is meant to help identify materials for basic and advanced research in Classical Studies. In support of the modern Greek courses taught in the Classical Studies Department, some items in the guide are relevant to the study of modern Greek language and culture.

Unless otherwise noted, call numbers refer to locations in O'Neill Library. Additional information and guidance is available from the Subject Specialist for Classical Studies, Jonas Barciauskas (617-552-4447; barciaus@bc.edu).

 
 

 
Guides & Bibliographies

Forman, Robert J. Classical Greek and Roman Drama: An Annotated Bibliography. Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, c1989. (O'Neill Reference PA3024 .F67x 1989)
Includes books and chapters with descriptions of material on individual dramatists as well as general surveys.

Halton, Thomas Patrick and O'Leary, Stella. Classical Scholarship: An Annotated Bibliography. White Plains, N.Y.: Kraus International, 1986. (O'Neill Stacks DE59 .Z99 H34 1986)
Covers books, articles, some essays, and serials.

Jenkins, Fred W. Classical Studies: A Guide to the Reference Literature. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimted, 1996. (O'Neill Reference PA91 .J4)
Preference is given to English-language works, but many important German, French, Italian and Spanish works are included. While intended primarily for students, still useful for scholars as an introduction to areas outside of their specialization. Provides chapters on indexes and abstracts, bibliographies of individuals from Aeschylus to Vergil, specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias, language dictionaries, internet resources, and other information resources. Each entry is annotated.

Kristeller, Paul Oskar. Catalogus translationum et commentariorum: mediaeval and Renaissance Latin translations and commentaries. Washington, Catholic University of America Press, 1960- . (Newton Resource Center Z7016 .K96)
In progress, this resource lists and describes Latin translations of Greek authors and Latin commentaries on ancient Latin and Greek authors. Illustrating the impact of Greek and Latin texts on the Middle Ages and Renaissance, this resource furnishes concrete evidence of when, where, and how an ancient author was known and appreciated in monastic, university, and humanist circles.

Sienkewicz, Thomas J. The Classical Epic: An Annotated Bibliography. Pasadena, Calif. : Salem Press, 1991. (O'Neill Stacks PA3022 .E6 S55x 1991)
Intended for the beginning student of Greek epics.

Whitaker, Graham. A Bibliographical Guide to Classical Studies. Hildesheim; New York: Olms-Weidmann, 1997- . (O'Neill Reference PA91 .W45 1997)
Covers monographs in classical studies published in 1873-1980. Nine volumes are planned. The first volume lists general reference sources as well as books on specific literary genres (poetry, drama, etc.) Subsequent volumes list books on particular authors. Entries are annotated.

 
 

Subject Librarian

Jonas Barciauskas

Contact Info:
O'Neill 406
Email Me
View My Other Guides

My Subjects:
Classical Studies, German Studies, Philosophy, Theology

 
Print This Page
Print Entire Guide



Description

  Loading content... please wait