This is the "Home" page of the "Chemical & Physical Property Data" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

Chemical & Physical Property Data   Tags: chemical_data, chemistry, physical_data, property_data  

Find online and print sources for chemical data.
Last Updated: Jan 30, 2014 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/chemdata Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Meta Sites for Data

Search the following by property type to find relevant data collections.  Call numbers in these collections are often the same in the Boston College Libraries collection.

Searching for Data, in General

Locating data can be challenging. Here are some tips that should help:

  • Use this guide to find the major data resources -- start with the "Try First" tab.
  • Try various synonyms for your compound -- different resources may use different names.

  • If you strike out with the standard tools, then search the journal literature for references to your compound in the context of this property. See "Find Articles" in the Chemistry Guide.

 

The resources listed here are useful in learning about data collections and critical evaluation of data:

  • Handbooks and Tables in Science and Technology, 3rd ed. Powell, R.H. Oryx Press: Phoenix, AZ, 1994. (O'Neill Reference Q 199 .P68x 1994)
    Descriptions of over 3,600 handbooks and tables in science, technology and medicine. Indexed by subject, author/editor and title.
  • The Search for Data in the Physical and Chemical Sciences. Arny, L. R. New York: Special Libraries Association, 1984.  
      
    Very useful for identifying sources for data not included in the standard tools, providing information on many smaller, important government data sets. Also, good overview of data as an entity (locating it, critical evaluation of it) and the key players

Chemistry Librarian

Profile Image
Sally Wyman
Contact Info
O'Neill Library, Room 408
Boston College Libraries
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
617-552-4452
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip