Skip to main content

Services for Alumni & Guests

:

Home

Services for alumni

All alumni of Boston College's undergraduate and graduate programs and schools are welcomed back to use the resources of the Libraries onsite and other services and resources as detailed below. The Boston College Libraries (excluding the Law Library) are open to the public. 

BORROWING

Alumni have borrowing privileges at all the Boston College Libraries except the Law Library. The loan period for alumni borrowers is 28 days with two renewals per item permitted. At the Educational Resource Center (ERC) alumni have borrowing privileges (excluding all educational and psychological tests) for 14 days with one renewal (28 days total permitted).

Alumni borrower card applications are available at the O'Neill Library and the ERC circulation desks. A valid form of photo identification must be presented when requesting privileges. Once graduation status is confirmed a card will be issued. Borrowing privileges are granted for a 12-month period from the date of application and may be renewed annually. Cards are for personal use only and are non-transferable.

Loan Periods

Format Loan Period Number of renewals 2 Loan Limits

Book

28 days 56 days 10
Pop DVD 4 days None 2
Pop Reading 28 days None 2
Media 1 7 days 7 days 4

**Alumni/Guests are not able to check out Daily technology (iPads, Laptops, Flip Cameras), Hourly technology (Laptop chargers, Headphones, VGA Adaptors, Graphing Calculators), Print or Media course reserves, or Popular e-books. 
1: DVDs, VHS, CDs, POP DVD, laserdisks, Vinyl, Cassettes, & CD ROMS
2: Renewal Period: Most loans can be renewed an unlimited number of times during the renewal period unless recalled.  Items must be returned to the library when the renewal period expires.

PRINTING, SCANNING & FAXING

Alumni and guests can scan and print materials.  To print, a $5 printing card can be purchased from vending machines in O’Neill Library, the Social Work Library, and the Theology and Ministry Library.  Outgoing fax service is also available at O'Neill Library. 

REFERENCE SERVICE

We provide in-person reference service in all libraries and offer a variety of help by subject pages to assist in finding more focused resources in your research area. Check our Hours for service desks staffing or Contact Us for more information.

RefWorks, the citation manager made available to current students, is also available to alumni. If you established a RefWorks account while a student, log on to RefWorks with the Group Code sent you when you registered. The Alumni Program allows you to continue to use your personal research databases, store and share all types of information, generate bibliographies, and use all the other beneficial features of your RefWorks accounts.

ONLINE RESOURCES

While on campus, many Databases and online resources found in our Catalog are available to walk-in users including Alumni and Guests. Some databases are restricted to current faculty, students, and staff. Call the O'Neill Reference Desk at 617-552-4472 before visiting to make sure the resource you are interested in is available. Off-campus access to the online resources is limited by license to current students and faculty.

Three important databases made available remotely to alumni are: 

  • ATLASerials (ATLAS) which consists the full-text versions of over 300 theological journals.
  • ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 includes more than 15,000 titles from the 13th Century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions.
  • ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 includes nearly 15,000 titles published from 1894 - 1923.

Access to these databases is intended for alumni exclusively. Participants may not share the username or password with others. For more information, School of Theology and Ministry and St. John's Seminary alumni please contact:

Steve Dalton at 617-552-6541 or stephen.dalton@bc.edu or Esther Griswold at 617-552-6540 or esther.griswold@bc.edu

All others, please contact: 

Sally Wyman at 617-552-4452 or sally.wyman@bc.edu

 

If you live in Massachusetts you are eligible for a borrowing card at your local public library which will enable remote access to many databases available through the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners website. If you do not live in Massachusetts consult your local public library for information about accessing databases.

BC Alumni SERVICES

Feedback

X

Use this form for questions or comments about the BC Libraries or the website. If you have a research question you can also email or chat with a librarian.

Please fill out all required fields.