This guide describes some of the major print and electronic resources for the scholarly study of advertising and public relations.
- Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
(O’Neill Reference HF5803 .A38 2003) Provides historic surveys of leading agencies and advertisers, brand and market histories, profiles of influential men and women in advertising, overviews or advertising in different countries, and issues in the fiel
- Encyclopedia of Public Relations
(O'Neill Library HD59.E48 2005 Reference) This two-volume print encyclopedia offers articles on key functions, practices, theories and models of public relations, as well as the history, key practitioners and terminology of the field.
- Macmillan Dictionary of Marketing and Advertising
(O'Neill Reference HF5415.B273 1998) From ABC analysis to Z-test, this 1998 print dictionary defines long-standing and newly emerged terms in the fields of marketing and advertising.
- International Encyclopedia of Communication: Advertising
Presents an overview of advertising practice from three perspectives: the advertiser, the consumer, and society at large. Also includes links to other articles about advertising in the encyclopedia.
- International Encyclopedia of Communication: Public Relations
Overview article looks at the nature and image of public relations, its history in the United States and other parts of the world, approaches to research on public relations, and the future of the discipline. Also includes links to other articles on aspects of public relations.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
Relevant articles in the Media sub-category Advertising & Marketing include: Advertising Agencies; Advertising, Pyschology of; Advertising, Effects of; Political Advertising; Public Relations in Media; and others.
- NTC's Dictionary of Advertising
(O'Neill Reference HF5803.W54 1993) Includes more than 5,000 concise definitions of advertising, marketing and communications terms. Industry and trade acronyms and abbreviations are explained in full.
- Advertising Worldwide and More Advertising Worldwide
These two print volumes present information on advertising conditions in 24 different countries, covering such topics as economic and demographic trends, media, legal and regulatory issues, industry structure, and others.