Theology Graduate Student Guide

A collection of reference titles to search for dictionary definitions, facts, figures, people, places, dates, and quotations simultaneously or select a subject or title to search. Subject areas include: Archaeology, Art & Architecture, Bilingual dictionaries, Classical studies, Encyclopedias, English Dictionaries and Thesauri, History, Language, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Media studies, Medicine and health, Music, Names studies, Performing arts, Philosophy, Quotations, Religion, Science and technology, Social sciences, Society and culture.

Cambridge Collections Online offers subject or theme based collections of content. At present, there are two collections comprising the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture. Each collection is updated with new Companions on publication and are cross-searchable.

An index for finding essays, book reviews, and journal articles in all disciplines related to theological and religious studies. Coverage is international in scope and now includes access to over 50 full text journals via linked citations. Includes the contents of the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index published after 1980.

Based on the extensive theology collection of the Tübingen University Library, this free database includes international coverage of journals and festschriften in Theology and Religious Studies.

Old Testament Abstracts features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and more.

New Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Boston College School of Theology and Ministry. The database offers citations and abstracts of journal articles, book reviews, books, and software.

Search WorldCat to find materials in thousands of libraries worldwide, including the BC Libraries, the Boston Library Consortium (BLC), and The Center for Research Libraries. Current BC faculty, staff, and students may request items from other libraries through WorldCat.

JSTOR is a collection of scholarly ebooks and journals across disciplines. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.

This resource is an interconnected, fully searchable library of over 500 volumes of Latin and Greek texts and their accompanying English translations including epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; and those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture.

This full text database contains Latin texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, an extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from other leading editions. Series A and Series B are meant to complement one another. The Cross Database Searchtool (listed next to LLT) allows searching Series A and B together.

The major resource for searching and analyzing Greek texts of the classical, patristic, and medieval eras, searchable title include Septuaginta (A. Rahlfs, 9th edn. Stuttgart: Wrttemberg Bible Society, 1935) and Novum Testamentum (K. Aland, M. Black, C.M. Martini, B.M. Metzger, and A. Wikgren, The Greek New Testament, 2nd edn. Stuttgart: Wrttemberg Bible Society, 1968). Access Requirements: You must create a personal account using your BC email address.

Past Masters provides online access to authoritative editions of the works of seminal figures in the history of philosophy, political thought, religious studies, sociology, the history of science, economics, and classics.

The Patrologia Latina contains 221 volumes and represents a complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865).

The most comprehensive collection of Greek patristic material relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439. Though many of the works covered in the series have been published more recently in various critical editions, Patrologi Grc remains the only published source for much of the material. This web version of the Patrologi Grc is composed of digitized page images of the Migne edition. The print PG's tables of contents and index, long considered insufficient and unreliable, have been replaced with comprehensive electronic versions. Although full-text searching is not available, metadata searching (including such items as patristic writers and titles of works in Latin and English) is possible.