Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Social Work Portal

:

Building the Social Work Collection

Starting point for Social Work Research

Collection Emphases

The collection supports the teaching and research needs of the Boston College School of Social Work

The curriculum features four areas of concentration, these include: Older Adults & Families; Children, Youth, & Families; Health & Mental Health; and Global Practice. Books, periodicals, and online databases are selected to provide comprehensive coverage in these four areas. The Social Work Library's collection also supports courses required as part of the core curriculum. The library's resources are collected to encompass both clinical and macro perspectives.

Social Work is an interdisciplinary field, and the library collection overlaps with areas of study such as psychology, sociology, political science, economics, education, and the allied health fields.

Collection of E-Books

The Boston College Libraries have a rapidly growing collection of electronic books. Feedback from social work faculty members and students indicate that they prefer an electronic format when they want to read a defined section of a book, such as a chapter or an encyclopedia entry. Therefore, the Libraries will make every effort to acquire the electronic versions of edited books, anthologies, encyclopedias, and other reference works. The print format of a book will be purchased when it is likely to be read from cover-to-cover.  Users can also specifically request to acquire a book in electronic format.

The library staff recognizes that the world of e-books and user preferences is constantly evolving. The policy towards collecting e-books in social work will be revisited and changed as needed. For more information on e-books at Boston College, please visit our E-Books at Boston College page.


 

More on Collections

For information about how the library collections at Boston College are being developed, go to the Collections page.

Help Us Build the Collections

Please feel free to recommend items for the library collections by e-mailing a Subject Librarian.