Psychology and Neuroscience Portal

The Psychology and Neuroscience collection serves the needs of the Boston College Department of Psychology, as well as the related needs of researchers and students in the other behavioral or social sciences. The psychology and neuroscience bibliographers select materials based on user requests, curricular needs and knowledge of the discipline. The bibliographers collaborate with the Department of Psychology and Neuroscience community and purchase requests by faculty and graduate students whenever possible.

Disciplinary Scope and Collecting Emphases

In support of the general collection development efforts of the Boston College Libraries the psychology and neuroscience librarian strives to collect materials authored by a wide range of individuals and from a variety of perspectives. Teaching and research support for faculty and grad students and curricular support for undergraduate students are the primary goals of the psychology and neuroscience collection. Psychology and neuroscience as disciplines cut across many subject areas. The depth and breadth of selected disciplinary areas collected depends on the Department of Psychology and Neuroscience's areas of research and curricular needs. Generally faculty are currently exploring the areas of affective learning and memory, cognitive and socioemotional development and virtue and morality.

Format Selection

Format decisions follow the General Collection Development Policy. We do consider preferences of patrons, curricular needs, and other factors.

• Journals are purchased with perpetual, electronic access whenever possible. Online backfiles are purchased to augment available content or replace print versions.
• Monographs are preferably purchased as e-books to support wider access. Exceptions may be made at individual user request.
• Bibliographic databases or indexes are exclusively purchased in electronic format and purchased for the widest possible audience.
• Data resources are purchased to serve the Department of Psychology or the broader BC community whenever possible.

Language

The majority of selections are for English language material. Acquisitions in other languages are made based on faculty request or a specific need.

Currency

Selection focuses on current scholarship, but retrospective acquisitions are made following changes to the curriculum or other specific needs.

Retention of Materials

Retention follows the General Collection Development Policy.

Acceptance of Gifts

Gifts are accepted according to the General Gifts Policy.