Philosophy Graduate Student Guide

A collection of reference titles to search for dictionary definitions, facts, figures, people, places, dates, and quotations simultaneously or select a subject or title to search. Subject areas include: Archaeology, Art & Architecture, Bilingual dictionaries, Classical studies, Encyclopedias, English Dictionaries and Thesauri, History, Language, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Media studies, Medicine and health, Music, Names studies, Performing arts, Philosophy, Quotations, Religion, Science and technology, Social sciences, Society and culture.

A collection of expert-level annotated bibliographies on topics covering the full span of the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

This index includes citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. Subjects indexed include aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, and metaphysics, as well as the philosophical aspects of related disciplines like education, political science, history, theology, and law.

PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. It monitors sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.

An open-access index to humanities literature, primarily in European philosophy.

Search WorldCat to find materials in thousands of libraries worldwide, including the BC Libraries, the Boston Library Consortium (BLC), and The Center for Research Libraries. Current BC faculty, staff, and students may request items from other libraries through WorldCat.

JSTOR is a collection of scholarly ebooks and journals across disciplines. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.

This resource is an interconnected, fully searchable library of over 500 volumes of Latin and Greek texts and their accompanying English translations including epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; and those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture.

This full text database contains Latin texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, an extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from other leading editions. Series A and Series B are meant to complement one another. The Cross Database Searchtool (listed next to LLT) allows searching Series A and B together.

The major resource for searching and analyzing Greek texts of the classical, patristic, and medieval eras, searchable title include Septuaginta (A. Rahlfs, 9th edn. Stuttgart: Wrttemberg Bible Society, 1935) and Novum Testamentum (K. Aland, M. Black, C.M. Martini, B.M. Metzger, and A. Wikgren, The Greek New Testament, 2nd edn. Stuttgart: Wrttemberg Bible Society, 1968). Access Requirements: You must create a personal account using your BC email address.

Past Masters provides online access to authoritative editions of the works of seminal figures in the history of philosophy, political thought, religious studies, sociology, the history of science, economics, and classics.