Music Research Guide

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

This guide provides information on some of the music resources and services available in the Boston College Libraries.

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

Boston College Libraries have many music dictionaries and encyclopedias. Below are some selected resources. Many others can be found on the fourth floor of O'Neill Library in the call number range ML100-102 or by searching the Boston College Libraries' catalog.

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
The gateway to Grove Music Online, with access to search The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.
Grove Music Online includes The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition; The New Grove Dictionary of Opera; The Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers; The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition; The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd edition.

MGG Online
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) is a general encyclopedia of music. MGG offers in-depth articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts. MGG Online contains the second print edition of MGG, published from 1994 to 2008, as well as current, continuous online updates and additions.
The Harvard Dictionary of Music O'Neill Reference ML100.R3
The standard resource for definitions of music terminology and other topics, it includes information on musical periods, instruments, musical forms. Many entries are lengthy and include bibliographies.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Each volume in the encyclopedia covers a large geographic area and is organized into three parts: an overview of the region, issues and processes, and regional case studies. Each chapter has an extensive list of references.
Encyclopedia of African American Music
Highlights many facets of African American music including folk, religious, concert and popular styles. Over 500 in-depth entries by more than 100 scholars on a vast range of topics such as genres, styles, individuals, groups, and collectives as well as historical topics such as music of the Harlem Renaissance, the Black Arts Movement, the Civil Rights Movement, and numerous others.
Historical Dictionary of Jazz
Covers the history of jazz through a chronology, an introductory essay, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1,500 cross-referenced entries on significant jazz performers, band leaders, bands, venues, record labels, recordings, and the different styles of jazz.
Oxford Companion to the American Musical
Comprehensive reference work that brings together information on theater, film and television musicals.
Encyclopedia of Musical Theatre
A compilation of over 2000 people and plays of the musical stage, mostly from France, Austria, Britain, United States, Hungary and Australia.
Baker's biographical dictionary of musicians
Best English language biographical dictionary of musicians. In addition to composers and musicians, includes musicologists, theorists, critics, impresarious, etc.
International Dictionary of Black Composers
Both art and popular music composers are included. Includes black composers from North and South America, Europe, and Africa.
Encyclopedia of Popular Music
The most comprehensive and scholarly encyclopedia devoted to popular music. International scope, focusing on the period since 1900
Diccionario de la Música Española e Hispanoamericana
Spanish language resource on Spanish and Latin American Music.Includes all genres of music. Majority of the entries are unique.

<< Previous: Home
Next: Books & Research Guides >>

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

Music Research Guide

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias