Skip to main content
Chat With Us

MLA Style

:

Works Cited Page

This guide introduces students to MLA Style. It outlines basic formatting rules, provides some basic examples and links to more detailed examples, and introduces RefWorks, a cloud-based citation management system.

Basic Rules

Basic rules for the Works Cited page:

  • Include the Running Head and page number on your references page.
  • Center the phrase "Works Cited" at the top of the page.
  • Arrange references in alphabetical order by the author's last name.
  • Double space between and within references.
  • The first line of an entry is flush with the left margin; subsequent lines are indented 1/2 inch. This is called a "hanging indent."
  • The title of the book or journal is italicized.
  • Titles of chapters and articles are in quotation marks (" ").

Books

A book with one author:

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. Medium of Publication.

Example:

Gregory, Philippa. The Lady of the Rivers. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2011. Print.

A chapter in an edited book:

Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Essay." Title of Collection. Ed. Editor's Name(s). City of Publication: Publisher, Year. Page range of entry. Medium of Publication.

Example:

Irizarry, Ylce. "Making it Home: A New Ethics of Immigration in Junot Díaz's Drown." Hispanic Caribbean Literature of Migration : Narratives of Displacement. Ed. Vanessa Pérez Rosario. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2010. Print.

Journal Articles

A basic journal article:

Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume.issue (year): pages. Medium of publication.

Example:

Beach, Christopher. "Poetic Positionings: Stephen Dobyns and Lyn Hejinian in Cultural Context." Contemporary Literature 38.1 (1997): 44-77. Print.

An electronic journal from a database

Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume.issue (year): pages. Database Name. Web. Date Accessed.

Example:

Javadizadeh, Kamran. "Elizabeth Bishop's Closet Drama." Arizona Quarterly: A Journal of American Literature, Culture, and Theory 67.3 (2011): n. pag. Project Muse. Web. 19 Dec. 2012.

Websites

 

Note that MLA has retired the requirement for including the url of the website in a works cited entry. Only include the url if it is a course requirement or if it would be very hard to find the site in a search using the information you provide in the bibliographic entry.

Website with Authors Identified

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. "Title of Work." Title of Website, if Different Version/edition (if used). Publisher or Sponsor; if not available, N.p, Date of publication; if not available, n.d. Web. Date of access.

Example:

Antin, David. Interview by Charles Bernstein. Dalkey Archive Press. Dalkey Archive P, n.d. Web. 21 Aug. 2007.

Website with No Authors

When there is no author for a web page, the title moves to the first position of the reference entry.

Example of a website without an author:

"Stress-Resilience/Susceptibility Traced to Neurons in Reward Circuit." National Institute of Mental Health. NIMH, 12 Dec. 2012. Web. 21 Dec. 2012.

Newspaper Articles

Print newspaper article:

Author, A. "Title of Article." Newspaper Title Date of publication, edition: Pages. Print.

Example:

Jeromack, Paul. "This Once, a David of the Art World Does Goliath a Favor." New York Times 13 July 2002, New England ed.: A13+. Print.

Online newspaper article:

Author, A.A. "Title of article." Newspaper Title (Date of publication): n. pag. Web. Date accessed.

Example:

Cushman, John H. "N.R.A. Calls for Armed Guards in Schools to Deter Violence." New York Times (21 Dec. 2012): n. pag. Web. 21 Dec. 2012.

Sacred Works and Commentaries

Sacred Texts

Give the title of the edition of the sacred text (taken from the title page), italicized; the editor’s or translator’s name (if any); publication information; and the medium. Add the name of the version, if there is one:

The Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha. Ed. Herbert G. May and Bruce M. Metzger. New York: Oxford UP, 1965. Print. Rev. Standard Vers.

The Qur’an: Translation. Trans. Abdullah Yusuf Ali. Elmhurst: Tahrike, 2000. Print.

(Examples above from hackerhandbooks.com.)

Commentary

  • For articles from reference works (e.g. Dictionary of the Bible), follow the example for An Article in a Reference Book:

Gamble, Harry Y. "Canon." The Anchor Bible Dictionary, Vol. 1. Ed. David Noel Freedman. New York: Doubleday, 1992. Print.

  • For book-length Commentaries (e.g. from the Anchor series), follow the example for A Book in a Series, using the series name and number.

If your citations are mostly to the translator's notes and commentary, begin the entry with the translator's name:

Neyrey, Jerome H., trans. 2 Peter, Jude: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. New York: Doubleday, 1993. Print. Anchor Bible Series, Vol. 37C.

If your citations are mostly to the biblical text, begin the entry with the title, and include the translator's name after the title:

2 Peter, Jude: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Trans. Jerome H. Neyrey. New York: Doubleday, 1993. Print. Anchor Bible Series, Vol. 37C.

  • For articles in Journals, follow instructions for Journal Articles in the box above.