A collection of reference titles in a number of broad subject areas. Search for dictionary definitions, facts, figures, people, places, dates, and quotations simultaneously or select a subject or title to search.
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a dynamic encyclopedia published as a project of the Metaphysics Research Lab at the Center for the Study of Language and Informationat Stanford University. In a dynamic encyclopedia, each entry is maintained and kept up to date on a routine, frequent basis by an expert or group of experts in the field.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Philosophy is a tool created and frequently updated to help researchers find reliable sources of information quickly by directing them to chapters, books, websites, archives, or data sets selected and annotated by experts in the subject.
A scholarly companion is designed to put an author or subject in context, and to comment on major and minor works and their themes. Usually in the form of essays by a group of experts. Tends to be a good source for bibliographies also.
This index includes citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. Subjects indexed include aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, and metaphysics, as well as the philosophical aspects of related disciplines like education, political science, history, theology, and law.
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. It monitors sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.
Search WorldCat to find materials in thousands of libraries worldwide, including the BC Libraries, the Boston Library Consortium (BLC), and The Center for Research Libraries. Current BC faculty, staff, and students may request items from other libraries through WorldCat.
This resource is an interconnected, fully searchable library of over 500 volumes of Latin and Greek texts and their accompanying English translations including epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; and those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture.
This full text database contains Latin texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, an extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from other leading editions. Series A and Series B are meant to complement one another. The Cross Database Searchtool (listed next to LLT) allows searching Series A and B together.
Past Masters provides online access to authoritative editions of the works of seminal figures in the history of philosophy, political thought, religious studies, sociology, the history of science, economics, and classics.