Latinx Theology

Finding articles

Databases

SeLaDoc: Base de datos de Teología Latinoamericana This link opens in a new window
A database published by the Pontifical Catholic University of Chile, specializing in ethics, history, pastoral life, social movements and liberation theology in Latin America. Indexed and searchable in Spanish.

Version available on open internet: SeLaDoc

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
An index for finding essays, book reviews, and journal articles in all disciplines related to theological and religious studies. Coverage is international in scope and now includes access to over 50 full text journals via linked citations. Includes the contents of the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index published after 1980.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly ebooks and journals across disciplines. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.
Jesuit Online Bibliography This link opens in a new window
An open access resource, this comprehensive online bibliography covers books, book chapters, journal articles and book reviews pertaining to the exponentially growing field of Jesuit Studies. In addition to basic bibliographic information, entries include abstracts, detailed subject headings, direct links to items available in electronic format where available, and a link to an items WorldCat entry.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) Online This link opens in a new window
The HAPI bibliographic database covers political, economic, and social issues and information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.

Central American Journals Online
CAMJOL indexes open access journals published in Nicaragua, Honduras and El Salvador that cover a variety of academic disciplines.
Redalyc.org
Covers open access, academic journals from Latin America on a variety of subjects. Many titles indexed are in the social sciences and humanities.
REDIB
A database produced in Spain, covering academic, open access journals from around the world that focus on topics related to Ibero-America.

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
This index includes citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. Subjects indexed include aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, and metaphysics, as well as the philosophical aspects of related disciplines like education, political science, history, theology, and law.

La Referencia
Searches institutional repositories in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Mexico, Panama, Peru Spain, and Uruguay.

Where's the Article?

If you search a database and the full article's not there, don't despair. Look for the "FindIt" button: or FindIt@BC. Find It will offer help including:

If BC has the full text in another database, you will be taken to a list of databases for the full text.
If BC subscribes to the print journal where the article appeared, the Catalog will say Find in Library and you can check which library or libraries may have the year/issue you need and where it is located.
If the article is not available online or in print at BC, use the link to Request the item. We can usually get the article from another library within a few days and email it to you.

Video tutorials on searching databases

Using SeLaDoc: La base de datos de teología latinoamericana

SeLaDoc (traducido por Charlie Joyce, Jr, MA' 21)

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)

Requesting resources by Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

To locate articles or books that are not accessible through the BC Libraries' collections, submit a request for the item by Interlibrary Loan. The instructions for making these requests can be found in the FAQs listed on the BC Libraries' website:

Instructions for requesting articles

Instructions for requesting books

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

Latinx Theology

Finding articles

Databases

Where's the Article?

Video tutorials on searching databases

Requesting resources by Interlibrary Loan (ILL)