RILM indexes and abstracts all types of publications on music, in all media: books, journals, online resources, research-based sound recordings and films, dissertations, and more. Publications represented in RILM originate from 151 countries and are in 214 languages. Coverage begins in 1967 with monthly updates. Indexing of conference proceedings starts in 1835.
Indexes nearly 30,000 entries on articles dating from the late-19th century to the present day. 500 Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines are represented, with a focus on musical activity in Canada. Journals indexed include Canadian Journal for Traditional Music, Fiddler Magazine, and Folk-lore.
Databases and indexes, of an interdisciplinary nature, containing articles on music:
Hayes, Richard J. Sources for the History of Irish Civilisation: Articles in Irish Periodicals. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1970. (Burns Library: Z2034.H35 REF; O'Neill Library: Microforms DA925.H39 1970a) A multi-volume index of Irish periodical articles that were published between 1800 and 1969.
This general database covers the humanities and sciences. It has references and full text articles from many music journals such as 19th Century Music, Journal of Research in Music Education, Billboard, Ethnomusicology and also general publications such as Time Magazine.
Covers U.S. ethnic and minority newspapers and other periodicals, many not in library print collections, from the late 1950s to the present. The full text of the article is available from the citation list produced by keyword searches. English and Spanish searching available.
Both databases contain articles related to Irish and Irish-American historical research. Historical Abstracts covers references to world history (excluding United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. America: History and Life covers bibliographic references to the United States and Canada from pre-history to the present.
Performing Arts Database draws content from international performing arts periodicals covering nearly all aspects of performing arts, including Dance, Theater, Film, Opera, Radio,Television, Storytelling, Video and Performance Art, from scholarly studies to popular culture.
Lexis-Nexis is a full text database containing access to more than 7000 English language newspapers, newsletters, magazines, trade journals, wire services and broadcast transcripts. The database also offers international resources in French, Italian, and German. A good source to get reviews of recent performances and recordings.
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America, the database consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, from 1926 to the present. Coverage of Irish language sources began in 1967.
The JSTOR project is a digital archive of fully searchable back issues (usually five years or older) of scholarly journals covering many subjects including music. The archive currently contains more than forty music journals. Browse a list of music journals.