Industry Information

Industry Reports

This Guide focuses primarily on industries in the United States but also identifies some international resources.

Industry Reports

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Market research reports covering thousands of industries in the United States at the national and state level, in China and worldwide. Also includes Business Environment Profiles.
S&P Capital IQ NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Click on the Industry tab to find coverage of 50 major industries. Includes information on how to analyze a company within the particular industry.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
30 industries, both U.S. and non-U.S., are covered in this database.
To view a report click on the PDF, not the "View" link.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes reports on industries in the United States and in countries around the world.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Search by industry and a list of companies will appear. Select one of the companies and click on "Industry Details".

Encyclopedia of American Industries
Information on 1,000 industries.

Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes periodicals, books and company & country reports on tourism from 1930 to the present.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is primarily a statistical database covering a wide range of topics, including media, the environment, business and industry, sports, communication, health care and more, but it includes some reports. When your results display click on the "Studies & Reports" radio button.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Click on Companies/Markets then on Industry.
For in-depth reports enter TechNavio into the Source field. See the Factiva user Guide for instructions.
MarketResearch.com This link opens in a new window
Includes reports from several market research firms covering service industries, consumer goods, demographics, food and beverage, heavy industry, life science, public sector and technology and media.
For academic use only.
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel provides market research reports covering the US and European marketplace. Reports cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink.

Industry Classification Codes

The United States federal government classifies manufacturing and service industries and assigns each a standard industrial classification code number in order to promote the comparability of statistics. The codes can be very helpful in doing industry research.

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC)
more...less...
This is based on 1987 descriptions of each 4-digit SIC code by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB). Some codes are catchalls for different products, or will be designated "NEC" or "not elsewhere classified."
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
more...less...
This is a more recent system that classifies business establishments by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB).The industry classification system is used by the statistical agencies of the United States. NAICS replaces the 1987 Standard Industrial Classification (SIC). The North American Industry Classification System is also available in print (O'Neill Reference HF1042 .N6).