COMM 2203: Image as Communication

Provides combined searching of the two major communication studies databases, including abstracts of articles, reports, and books from a variety of scholarly, trade, and professional publishers plus full text from more than 200 publications.

Performing Arts Database draws content from international performing arts periodicals covering nearly all aspects of performing arts, including Dance, Theater, Film, Opera, Radio,Television, Storytelling, Video and Performance Art, from scholarly studies to popular culture.

FIAF Plus includes the main database, the "International Index to Film Periodicals," an essential tool for film studies, created by the International Federation of Film Archives, which contains over 500,000 article citations from more than 345 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals dating from 1972 to the present. The full-text of articles from over 50 journals is also available.

Searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research and provides links to resources at Boston College. To set up these links, go to Settings and enter Boston College in the Library Links area.

JSTOR is a collection of scholarly ebooks and journals across disciplines. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.

Citations and abstracts to more than 2 million dissertations and masters theses in all fields produced in North American colleges and universities from 1861 to the present, and from around the world since 1988. The full text of dissertations published since 1997 is also available for download.

Web of Science is a large database, indexing high quality journals and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and humanities and providing detailed citation analysis and citation searching, It covers from 1900 to the present, and is global in scope.

Open access archive combining the INIST's databases Francis (primarily Humanities and Social Sciences) and Pascal (Science, Technology and Medicine).

Art Source covers articles, books, podcasts and more from fine, decorative and commercial art, architecture and architectural design from over 700 full-text journals, 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, It includes and expands coverage provided by Art Full Text and Art Retrospective. Coverage: 1914 - current.

The HAPI bibliographic database covers political, economic, and social issues and information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.

The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.

Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research, 1972 and earlier to present.