Military History

Collection of Jewish Telegraphic Agency (JTA) is the archive of original reporting from around the world that documents Jewish experience of the 20th century, much of it not written about in the mainstream media. There are contemporaneous articles reported from Europe between 1937-1945 that document the Holocaust on a daily basis, articles documenting the experience of Russian Jews throughout entire reign of Communism, coverage of life in then-Palestine before the new state was inaugurated in 1948, and much more. 1923-current.

1941-1996. Transcribed and translated foreign broadcasts and news. The original mission was to monitor, record, transcribe, and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Now offers the opportunity for students to expand their research into primary sources that originated in languages they do not have.

Streaming video collection of international newsreels, 1929-1966. Includes transcriptions and the ability to create and export clips. Includes March of Time series.

Includes three collections focused on British foreign policy and diplomatic history: British Documents on the Origins of the War 1898-1914, Documents on British Foreign Policy 1918-1939, Documents on British Policy Overseas - beginning in 1945.

1931-1945, This collection of digitized Foreign Office Files from the National Archives, UK, documents Anglo-Japanese diplomatic relations and Japanese history. The current collection contains the module: Japan, 1931-1945: Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific. Documents include memoranda, reports, correspondence and assessment of events and speeches.

Collection provides access to over 750,000 pages of government documents from 1900 to 2008. Covering major policy issues from the period before the World War II into the twenty-first century, the archive serves as a convenient source for documents from government departments including Defense; State; Treasury; CIA; and the White House. U.S. Declassified Documents Online supports the study of history, politics, international relations, and journalism, among other fields.

Items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II. Mostly consisting of letters written or received by prisoners, the collection also includes receipts for parcels, money orders and personal effects; paper currency; and realia, including Star of David badges that Jews were forced to wear.

From the archives of the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency come government reports covering all aspects of global migration during much of the 20th-century, including such pivotal events as post-World War II Jewish resettlement, South African apartheid, Latin American migrations to the United States and much more. This digital archive captures translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government documents, along with analysis by the CIA predecessor agency.

Human Rights Studies Online provides documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide. The collection includes text and video that give voice to the countless victims of human rights crimes in the 20th and early 21st centuries committed during the Holocaust, and in Armenia, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and other locations.

This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. Beginning with the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.