Free resources on books, media, graphics, and anything else you might find useful.
eBooks & Text
Google Book Search
Google Books is a growing collection of the full-text of out of copyright books as well as snippets from more recent titles from the collections of some of the world's major research libraries. Use the advanced mode for more exact searching.
HathiTrust
A digital repository for the nation's great research libraries, HathiTrust brings together the digitized book and serial collections of major universities and other partner institutions, a significant portion of which is in the public domain and available full text. Boston College's status as a partner makes it possible for members of the Boston College community to download any of the out-of-copyright items as PDFs.
Internet Archive
Boston College Libraries is one of many research libraries contributing scanned images of works outside of copyright. Read online or download in various formats for various e-book readers. Download options include PDF, EPUB, Kindle, DAISY (ANSI/NISO Z39.86 open format), and others.
Project Gutenberg
Another source of e-books in the public domain. Individual titles are available for download for reading online, or as PDF, EPUB, Kindle, and more.
Directory of Open Access Books
Focused on providing access to open access books in the sciences, DOAB launched in mid-April 2012 and now includes over 2,000 books from over 70 publishers. DOAB complements the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ). DOAB is a product of the OAPEN Foundation, an international initiative based at the National Library in The Hague.
Gallica Books, manuscripts, periodicals, images, scores, etc. spanning a wide array of disciplines from Bibliotechque Nationale de France with materials reaching back into the 17th Century. Materials can be downloaded as PDF, JPEG (individual pages) and TXT.
Classicly.com
A new option, offering a large collection of public domain e-books in Kindle and PDF formats.
Boston Public Library eCards
As students of Boston College, you are eligible for a free Boston Public Library eCard. With an eCard you have instant access to downloadable ebooks and multimedia, research databases, digital magazines, and streaming media.
Audio Books & Music
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is not just for eBooks! There's a who host of audiobooks available to stream online or download.
LibriVox
LibriVox has one objective, "to make all books in the public domain available, for free, in audio format on the internet." Here you can access free downloads of audio books read by volunteers. It's fun, hilarious, and free!
OpenCulture Audio Archive
OpenCulture is a digital magazine dedicated to providing access to free resources around the wed, including audiobooks.
Boston Public Library eCards
As students of Boston College, you are eligible for a free Boston Public Library eCard. With an eCard you have instant access to downloadable ebooks and multimedia, research databases, digital magazines, and streaming media.
