Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Exhibits Spaces

:

Getting Started

Exhibits spaces around the BC libraries.

Bapst Library, Gargan Hall Exhibit Cases

Description of space: One exhibit case in Gargan Hall.

Policy for use of space: Exhibit space is used to highlight books in the collection and selected items from the University Archives.

Contact: Laurie Mayville

 

Bapst Library, Outside Gargan Hall Exhibit Cases

Description of space: Two cases found outside Gargan Hall.

Policy for use of space: Exhibit space is used to highlight books in the collection and selected items from the University Archives.

Contact: Katherine Fox

 

Burns Library

Description of space: Burns wall cases (4 cases).

Policy for use of space: Exhibits highlight collections in the Burns Library.

Contact: Katherine Fox

 

Educational Resource Center, Campion Hall G13

Description of space: One wall with bulletin board and two bookcases (approximately 11 linear feet). Walls alongside ramp leading to classroom.

Policy for use of space: This space is designated to feature educational and curriculum materials. Student work may be exhibited with approval of ERC exhibit committee.

Contact: Tiffeni Fontno

 

O’Neill Library, 3rd floor Lobby

Description of space: One horizontal case

Policy of use for the main exhibit case: The space is designated to materials relating to the Lowell Humanities Series.

Contact: Stephen Sturgeon

 

O’Neill Library, Level One Gallery, 1st floor

Description of space: The galley is an open space of 770 sq. ft., with wall space of 385 sq. ft. for displaying flatwork only.

Policy for use of space: This is a space for the BC Community to display their creative work. The Boston College Libraries fully support the Arts and the gallery encourages the creative spirit of Boston College.

Contact: Scott Britton

 

O’Neill Library: Level Three Gallery, (southwest wall)

Description of space: Gallery space for hanging art, 11’ tall with at total length of approximately 75’. The entire length includes 3 wall bays that are 24’ each with 2 pilasters bump outs at one third intervals. There is existing library furniture in front of the wall that comes to about 3 feet of the lower portion of the wall.

Policy for use of space: Level Three Gallery in O'Neill Library is a space for the BC faculty and alumni to display their creative work. Work should support the educational purpose and curricula of the university.

Contact: Nina Bogdanovsky

 

O’Neill 3rd floor Reading Room, Column cases

Description of space: There are three horizontal cases next to the columns in the O’Neill Reading Room.

Policy of use of space: Exhibits in the O’Neill Reading Room feature special collections from the John J. Burns Library.

Contact: Katherine Fox

 

O’Neill 3rd floor Reading Room, Back Wall

Description of space: There are three horizontal cases against the Back Wall of the O’Neill Reading Room.

Policy of use of space: Exhibits in O’Neill are part of the Library’s educational outreach and are specifically created to stimulate interest in, and encourage further study of, the topics showcased in the displays.  Exhibits highlight campus events, interesting research, library collections, current and/or historically important events, and cultural trends and their significance for the BC community.

Contact: Scott Britton

 

Social Work Library

Description of space: 5'x4' magnetic whiteboard and a five-feet long credenza on top of which to display items. Multiple walls

Policy for use of space: Display themes need to be relevant to social work matters and consistent with the missions and values of BC and the BC School of Social Work.

Contact: Hannah Ha

 

Theology & Ministry Library 

Description of space: Atrium Gallery, lower level- approximately 90 linear feet of space along three walls fitted with picture rail on the lower level of the Theology & Ministry Library.  Student Lounge, 3rd level- four alcoves and one wall.

Policy for use of space: Exhibits are sought which are consistent with the Jesuit mission of Boston College and, more specifically, with the mission and values of the School of Theology & Ministry

Contact: Steve Dalton