If all you need is a location and call number, you needn't go any further than the results list. Check the table called "How do I get my items?" to see options for different location descriptions.
Click on any title in the results to get full information. Sometimes you might see an item listed at multiple libraries, or a link to get the item online. After signing in, depending on item availability and your status, you may also see a request option in addition to "Request Book Chapter." Click "locate" to get a map with your item's location in O'Neill Library, and a link to text the location to your phone.
| Location | Options |
|---|---|
| Find Online | Click the link provided to access an electronic version. (The link is often the name of a publisher or ebook collection, e.g. "Hathitrust," "EBOOK CENTRAL," "JSTOR," etc.) |
| Stacks | Find at call# location in library shelving of the specified library. In O'Neill, these are on floors 3-5; click the "locate" button to see a map. Paper maps are available at service desks. If the item is located at a library inconvenient for you, sign in to request it to be delivered to a convenient library. If you only need one chapter and would like it delivered electronically, sign in to request a scanned chapter or article. |
| Course Reserves | Write down the call# and bring it to the circulation/service desk in the library specified. |
| Offsite | Sign in and click the Request link. The item will be delivered to the library you specify within a few days; you will receive an email alert when it is available. |
| Reference | Find at call# location in Reference area; in O'Neill, this is near the elevators on floor 3. Reference items cannot be checked out: use in the library only. |
| Media | "Media 7 day" cd's and dvd's are shelved behind the Reference area in O'Neill Library. "Media 7 day/3day Circulation," are stored behind the O'Neill Circulation desk; ask staff for assistance. |
| Pop Collection | Find the item in the pop collection in the O'Neill Lobby. |
| Not Available | The item could be currently on loan or in processing. Sign in and request it. |
| Stacks No Loan | Find item at the call# location; item can be used only in the library. |
| New Books | The item is shelved on the first floor near the service desk. |
| Location | Options |
|---|---|
| Available Online | Click the link provided. It is often a journal publisher name, such as ScienceDirect or Taylor & Francis. If there are multiple listings, be sure to choose one whose coverage dates include the date you need. |
| Stacks | Find at call# location in specified library. The item will likely be in a hardcover bound collection of journals, often by year. Find the bound volume that includes your year/issue. OR sign in and request a scanned copy, and you should get an email alert within a few days. |
| Current Periodicals | Find at call# location among current periodicals in the specified library. In O'Neill Library, current periodicals are behind the ITS Help services on floor 3. |
| Not Found Online | Click the Request Item link, sign in, and finish filling out the ILL request form. You should get an email within a few days alerting you to electronic availability of the article. |
| Format | Loan Period | Maximum Renewal Period | Loan Limits |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books | 1 year | 4 years | 500 |
| Educational Resource Center Books | 14 days | 112 days | 500 |
| Daily Technology | 4 or 7 days | Not renewable | 2 |
| Hourly Technology | 2 or 4 hours | Not renewable | 2 |
| Course Reserves - Print | 2 or 24 hours | Not renewable | 2 |
| Course Reserves - Media | 3 hours | Not renewable | 2 |
| Main Desk Media | 7 days | Not renewable | 1 |
| Pop Reading | 28 days | Not renewable | No Limit |
| OverDrive eBooks | 7-21 days | Renew through OverDrive | 3 |
| Media | 7 days | 35 days | 4 |
Recalls: Library staff may recall checked-out materials, shortening the loan period for the original borrower. Borrowers are notified via email when an item is recalled. If the item is not returned by the due date specified in the email, borrowing privileges may be suspended, and students who do not return library property on time may be referred to Student Conduct (see section 10.3).
| Format | Loan Period | Maximum Renewal Period | Loan Limits |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books | 28 days | 224 days | 150 |
| Educational Resource Center Materials | 14 days | 112 days | 150 |
| Daily Technology | 4 or 7 days | Not renewable | 2 |
| Hourly Technology | 2 or 4 hours | Not renewable | 2 |
| Course Reserves - Print | 2 or 24 hours | Not renewable | 2 |
| Course Reserves - Media | 3 hours | Not renewable | 2 |
| Main Desk Media | 7 days | Not renewable | 1 |
| Pop Reading | 28 days | Not renewable | No Limit |
| OverDrive eBooks | 7-21 days | Renew through OverDrive | 3 |
| Media | 7 days | 35 days | 4 |
* Includes McNair Scholars and students enrolled in non-degree-seeking programs.
| Format | Loan Period | Maximum Renewal Period | Loan Limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books | 120 days | 960 days | 500 |
| Educational Resource Center Materials | 14 days | 112 days | 500 |
| Daily Technology | 4 or 7 days | Not renewable | 2 |
| Hourly Technology | 2 or 4 hours | Not renewable | 2 |
| Course Reserves - Print | 2 or 24 hours | Not renewable | 2 |
| Course Reserves - Media | 3 hours | Not renewable | 2 |
| Main Desk Media | 7 days | Not renewable | 1 |
| Pop Reading | 28 days | Not renewable | No Limit |
| OverDrive eBooks | 7-21 days | Renew through OverDrive | 3 |
| Media | 7 days | 35 days | 4 |
* Includes McNair Scholars and students enrolled in non-degree-seeking programs
| Format | Loan Period | Maximum Renewal Period | Loan Limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books | 28 days | 56 days | 10 |
| Course Reserves | Not Available | Not renewable | 0 |
| Educational Resource Center Materials | 14 days | 14 days | 10 |
| Daily Technology | Not Available | Not renewable | 0 |
| Hourly Technology | 4 hours | Not renewable | 1 |
| Pop Reading | 28 days | Not renewable | 10 |
| Media | 7 days | 7 days | 4 |
* Includes Alumni of Boston College, Newton College of the Sacred Heart, Pine Manor College, Saint John's Seminary, and Weston Jesuit School of Theology.
