Environmental History

Scholarly Research

This is a guide to approaching and research environmental history at Boston College.

What's on This Page

Reference Shelf

Oxford Reference Online
This is a quick go-to for high-quality, short, dictionary style descriptions, definitions, facts, and figures. Great for date and name checking.

Individual Titles

A Companion to American Environmental History by Douglas Cazaux Sackman (ed.)
Call Number: Blackwell reference online
Publication Date: 2010
A collection of over 30 essays that examine the evolving and diverse field of American environmental history.
The Oxford Handbook of Climate Change and Society by John S. Dryzek; Richard B. Norgaard; David Schlosberg (eds.)
Call Number: Oxford Handbooks Online: Political Science
Publication Date: 2013
This volume is a definitive analysis drawing on the best thinking on questions of how climate change affects human systems, and how societies can, do, and should respond.
Environmental History by Andrew C. Isenberg (ed.)
Call Number: Oxford Handbooks Online
ISBN: 9780190673482
Publication Date: 2014
This book explores the methodology of environmental history, with an emphasis on the field's interaction with other historiographies such as consumerism, borderlands, and gender.
Green Cities: An A-to-Z Guide by Nevin Cohen, Paul Robbins (eds.)
Call Number: SAGE
Publication Date: 2011

Books: Find & Request from BC & Beyond

Your local libraries have excellent monographs and anthologies located in O'Neill library as well as through the BC libraries portal. Try searching for books (only books) through the WorldCat library system to see if we have what you need. If we don't, you can order material through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

WorldCat Catalog

Articles and e-Books Database Recommendations

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window

Individual Journal Titles

Environmental History
Call Number: Oxford, JSTOR, Natural Science Collection
Publication Date: 1996+
Journal of the American Society for Environmental History and Forest History Society.
Environment and history
Call Number: IngentaConnect ; JSTOR
Publication Date: 1995+
International review of environmental history
Call Number: Australian National University
Publication Date: 2015+
World coverage but focused on Australasia, East and South East Asia, Africa and South America.
Journal for the history of environment and society
Call Number: Brepolis
Publication Date: 2016+
Open Access. Issuing body Vereniging voor Ecologische Geschiedenis.
Rural landscapes : society, environment, history
Call Number: DOAJ ; Academic OneFile
Publication Date: 2014+
Open access journal.