COMM 4444: Social Movements

AAL is an open source, collaborative initiative between Boston University and the West African Research Center (WARC). Ajami traditions of Africa are centuries-old and are quite varied, consisting of satirical, polemical and protest poetry, as well as biographies, eulogies, genealogies, talismanic resources, therapeutic medical manuals, family journals, business transactions, historical records, speeches, texts on administrative and diplomatic matters (correspondence between Sultans and provincial rulers), Islamic jurisprudence, behavioral codes, grammar, and even visual arts. The primary goal of AAL is to ensure that these materials are no longer treated as insignificant vestiges, but rather as major sources of local African knowledge, without which a holistic and in-depth understanding of Islamized Africa will remain elusive.

Items from the collections of the Massachusetts Historical Society: unique manuscripts and rare published materials, documents and letters by African Americans, the earliest antislavery pamphlet published in Massachusetts, petitions of African Americans requesting freedom, and much more.

collections include: Frederick Douglas papers, Zora Neale Hurston plays, Pamphlets, Sheet music, Broadsides & Ephemera, Slave Narratives (audio interviews) and much more.

Selected primary source documents on the opposition African Americans have faced on the road to freedom in the United States. Topics include Slavery and Abolition, Civil war era, Jim Crow, Civil Rights, and Black Power movement, among others. Time period covered: 1790-present.

An initiative of the University of Georgia providing access to a variety of primary sources from the Civil Rights Movement including letters, pamphlets, oral histories, photographs and film. Search or browse by year, event, people or topic.

Covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes more than 800 issues providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014.

"...discover and explore nearly a half million people records and 5 million data points. From archival fragments and spreadsheet entries, we see the lives of the enslaved in richer detail. Yet there’s much more work to do, and with the help of scholars, educators, and family historians, Enslaved.org will be rapidly expanding in 2021. We are just getting started."
Open Access.

Diaries, account books, letter books, ships' logs, indentures, bills of sale, personal papers, and records of institutions, including the records of the New York Manumission Society and the African Free School, the diaries and correspondence of English abolitionists Granville Sharp and John Clarkson, the papers of the Boston anti-slavery activist Lysander Spooner, the records of the Massachusetts Anti-Slavery Society, and an account book kept by the slave trading firm Bolton, Dickens & Co.

Microfilmed from collections in the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, New York Public Library.
"Includes slave sale deeds, passes, certificates of registry, manumission papers, wills and speeches. Also letters relating to the Amistad Mutiny and other slave cases which got in the courts. The abolition letters relate primarily to William Wilberforce, Thomas Clarkson, and William Lloyd Garrison ..."

Collection of volumes, tracts, deeds, and clippings on the topic of slavery from the holdings of Manuscripts and Archives, Yale University.

Ser. 1. African American Organizations -- Ser. 2. Antebellum America and Slavery. Contains records related to organizations affiliated with the Universal Negro Improvement Association (UNIA) including Garvey Clubs, and the Pan-African Community League, among others

The World Digital Library is a Library of Congress project sponsored by UNESCO. Items in this digital library, including books, manuscripts, photographs, maps and sound recordings, are individually described and searchable in seven languages. Most countries and regions around the world are represented.