Immigration & Refugees in Education: Children's Literature & Instructional Materials

Information about modeling ESL and ELL instructional strategies and information are included in this database.

Education Source covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for a very large number of journals, as well as full text for over one thousand journals. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. This database also includes full text for hundreds of books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, provides extensive access to educational-related literature. It includes coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. It has links to over three hundred thousand full-text documents going back to 1966. One may also search ERIC through the US Dept. of Education portal at http://www.eric.ed.gov/.

Facts On File includes 3 databases: Issues and Controversies which covers popular topics from various view points; Today's Science which explains major issues in science; and World New Digest which covers international news from 1940.

With titles covering different moments from 1970 to the present, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports. A ProQuest collection.

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), an international organization of colleges and universities which provide access to the world's largest archive of computerized social science data in the areas of political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law occurring in over 130 countries. Special archives on health and medical care, education, aging, criminal justice and substance abuse and mental health available. Most of the ICPSR datasets are downloadable only by current BC faculty and students. Federally funded data are freely available to the public.

From the archives of the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency come government reports covering all aspects of global migration during much of the 20th-century, including such pivotal events as post-World War II Jewish resettlement, South African apartheid, Latin American migrations to the United States and much more. This digital archive captures translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government documents, along with analysis by the CIA predecessor agency.

This database covers a wide range of areas related to the nature and use of language. Major topics include phonetics, phonology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

An index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general from all over the world

Citations and abstracts to more than 2 million dissertations and masters theses in all fields produced in North American colleges and universities from 1861 to the present, and from around the world since 1988. The full text of dissertations published since 1997 is also available for download.

ProQuest Education Journals provides access to a large number of educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The resource covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.

PsycBOOKS includes books and chapters from the American Psychological Association. Includes current and out-of-print books from 1950-present, approximately 120 archival resources in psychology, and the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology with over 1,500 authored entries.

The database provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The online resource includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.

Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, the database provides access to literature on all aspects of the social work field.

The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Standard summary of statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the U.S. Includes data from governmental and private sources. Serves as a guide to other statistical sources.

Biographical information on thousands of people throughout history and from around the world.

Facts On File includes 3 databases: Issues and Controversies which covers popular topics from various view points; Today's Science which explains major issues in science; and World New Digest which covers international news from 1940.

Resource presenting viewpoints from a global perspective on what's happening in the world today and why.

Designed for grades K-5 students. 100 full-text magazines and newswires. Includes Blackbirch Press curriculum support references, graphs, charts, maps, and 2,500 searchable images.

NoveList K-8 Plus is a database about books specifically for younger readers. It helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests. NoveList features articles, booktalks, book discussion guides, author read-alikes, readers' advisory and a variety of other reader and staff materials for the K-8 environment.

Polling the Nations is a comprehensive collection of public opinion polls containing the full text of more than 700,000 questions and responses from more than 18,000 surveys and 1,700 polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world. In 1981 it began, in print format, as American Public Opinion Index (O'Neill Reference & Stacks HM261.A463).

Readers' Guide Retrospective provides comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Covers the years 1890 1982.

Designed for middle school students. Curriculum-aligned magazines, newspapers, videos, and primary sources covering literature, science, social studies, U.S. and world history, and more.

This database is designed for high school students, in grades 9-12, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.