Psychoanalytic Studies

The reference books listed on this page are an excellent place to get started with your research. They are good resources for basic background information and general facts on your topic.

• Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (BC community only)
  The web version of a comprehensive multi-volume standard reference work, the resource updates an earlier standard, the Encyclopedia of Philosophy (O’Neill Reference & Stacks B41 .E5 1972).  However, the earlier Encyclopedia of Philosophy can still provide useful information.

• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
  A free web version designed to be a dynamic resource with new and revised articles being added all the time. From its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public.

• Routledge Critical Assessments
  A publication series of multi-volume sets on individual philosophers.  Examples include Nietzsche and Heidegger.  The various sets can be located by using Holmes and doing an Advanced Search in the title field with the exact phrase "routledge critical assessments."

• Blackwell Reference Online (BC community only)
  This resources offers titles in the humanities and the social sciences. It can be searched as a collection or by selecting individual volumes, for example, The Blackwell Guide to Continental Philosophy.

• Cambridge Collections Online (BC community only)
  Cambridge Collections Online offers introductory "companions" in the humanities including philosophy.  Like Blackwell Reference Online, it can be searched as a single collection or by individual volumes.  Examples of individual volumes in philosophy are The Cambridge Companion to Nietzsche, The Cambridge Companion to Heidegger and The Cambridge Companion to Husserl.