Skip to main content
Chat With Us

FA 461: Frank Lloyd Wright

:

Reference Sources

This guide provides links to sources on world renown architect, Frank Lloyd Wright

Biographical Resources

Biographies

Emanual, Muriel. Contemporary Architects. (Bapst Reference NA680.C625)

Placzek, Adolf. Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects. 4 vols. (Bapst Reference NA40.M25 1982)

Richards, J.M. Who's Who in Architecture from 1400 to the Present (Bapst Reference NA40.W48)

Sennott, R. Stephen. Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture 3 vols.(Bapst Reference NA680.E495 2004)

Van Vaynckt, Randall. International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture. 2 vols. (Bapst Reference NA40.I48 c1993)

Bibliographies

Langmead, Donald. Frank Lloyd Wright:a bio-bibliography (Bapst Reference NA737.W7 L36 2003)

Ehresmann, Donald. Architecture: A Bibliographic Guide. (Bapst Reference NA2520.E38x 1984)

Johnson, Donald Leslie. Makers of 20th Century Modern Architecture:a Bio-critical Sourcebook. (Bapst Reference NA680 .J628 1997)
Karpel, Bernard. Arts in America: A Bibliography. Vol. 1. (Bapst Reference NX503.A1A77x 1979)
Palmer, Allison Lee, 1963-: Historical Dictionary of Architecture (Bapst Reference NA200 .P35 2008)
Wodehouse, Lawrence. American Architects from the Civil War to the First World War. (Bapst Reference NA710.W63x 1976)
______American Architects from the First World War to the Present. (Bapst Reference NA712.W635x 1977)

Histories and Surveys

Ching, Frank, 1943-: A Global History of Architecture. (Bapst Reference NA200 .C493 2007
Historic America: Buildings, Structures, and Sites. (Bapst Reference NA705.H53 1983)
Kostof, Spiro. History of Architecture. (Bapst Reference NA200.K65 1995)
Fletcher, Sir Bannister. History of Architecture. 20th ed. (Bapst Reference NA200.F63 1996)
Roth, Leland M. Understanding Architecture: its Elements, History, and Meaning. 2nd ed.(Bapst Art Stacks NA2500 .R68 2007)

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Atlas of Vernacular Architecture of the World. (Bapst Art Stacks NA208 .V45 2007)

Bucher, William. Dictionary of Building Preservation. (Bapst Reference NA31.D55 1996)

Curl, James Stevens. Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture. (BC Community Only) 2006. Oxford Reference Online

Encyclopedia of Architecture, Design, Engineering and Construction. 5 vols. (Bapst Reference NA31.E59 1988)

 Harris, Cyril. Dictionary of Architecture and Construction. (Bapst Reference NA31.H32 2006)

Oliver, Paul. Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World. 3 vols. (Bapst Reference NA208.E53 1997)

 Packard, Richard. Encyclopedia of American Architecture. (Bapst Reference NA705.P3 1995)

 Stierlin, Henri. Encyclopedia of World Architecture. 2 vols. (Bapst Reference NA200.S74 1979)

 Walker, John. Glossary of Art, Architecture and Design since 1945. 3rd ed. (Bapst Reference N34.W34 1992)

Woodham, Jonathan M. Dictionary of Modern Design. 2004. Oxford Reference Online