Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Nursing Portal

:

Building the Collection

Starting Point for Nursing Research

Collection Emphases

The Nursing Collection primarily supports the current and anticipated curricula, clinical practice and research needs of the School of Nursing community from the beginning student to the more sophisticated and diverse needs of graduate students and faculty.  It also provides resources in bioethics and health information to the university as a whole and to appropriate economics, sociology, psychology, bioethics, and pre-medical classes.  There is comprehensive collecting of nursing materials in the English language, selected foreign language serial titles, and varying levels of bioethics and related health science materials. The collection provides historical materials in nursing as well as the most current resources in clinical practice. E-books of quality which support the Connell School of Nursing Curriculum and Clinical  Practice will be added to the Reference Collection especially.

Because of its comprehensive collection in nursing, the Thomas P. O'Neill, Jr. Library serves as a Resource Library in Nursing for the New England Region of  the National Network of Libraries of Medicine of the National Library of Medicine. The Connell School of Nursing Graduate Program, with its excellent faculty and student body, ranks 26th in the United States.

Help Us Build the Collections

Please feel free to recommend items for the library collections by e-mailing a Subject Librarian.

Acquisition Highlights

JBI COnNECT+ (Clinical Online Network of Evidence for Care and Therapeutics)
provides access to resources to help the health care professional find and use evidence to inform clinical decision-making.

AMERICAN HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION ANNUAL SURVEY DATABASE
The AHA Annual Survey Database includes more than 800 data fields on 6,500 hospitals.  This allows tracking of trends in hospital demographics, organizational structure, facilities and services, utilization data, community orientation indicators, expenses, and staffing.  This data is useful for healthcare research, social services providers, economics, business, and communications.

Nursing

 

Florence Nightingale                              Founder of Modern Nursing                  (Wikimedia Commons)

 

Evidence-based Nursing Practice provides the best health outcomes for patients. The O'Neill Library Collection provides tools to develop and support Evidence-based Nursing Research and Practice.

More on Collections

For information about how the library collections at Boston College are being developed, go to the Collections page.