Guide to Political Science research at Boston College Libraries
Scholarly Articles in Academic Research
Written by expert scholars on a specific aspect of their field of study
Contain original research and analysis which contributes to knowledge in the field
Authors rely on evidence and the findings of other scholars to create the arguments and conclusions in their articles; many reference are cited by the author(s)
Published in scholarly journals produced by university presses and academic publishers
Most articles undergo a peer-review process, where scholars assess the value, credibility and quality of the author's work to determine if it meets established standards for publication
Databases for Scholarly Articles in Political Science
All of the databases in this box are nestled in ProQuest. You can search each database individually, or all at once.
Offering access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature, PolicyFile is updated weekly with abstracts and links to the latest reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
Provides access to leading political science and international relations journals. This collection covers such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.
Includes citations and abstracts of the international serials literature in political science and its complimentary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy.
These next databases are also excellent. They are not in ProQuest.
This resource for theory and research in international affairs includes policy briefs, working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, proceedings from conferences, and foundation-funded research projects. Also includes Economist Intelligence Unit data for over 200 countries.
Indexes and abstracts articles from major political science journals. Covers theory, government, political process, international relations, and national and area studies.
Articles in journals, magazines, newspapers, and other formats. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. There are also video files, podcasts and transcripts from AP,NPR, CNN, CBC and full-text of the New York Times back to 1995.
A large multidisciplinary database. Use it for author, subject and citation searching in a wide array of disciplines. Find H-Index information, compare journal impact data, and analyze publication and citation trends.
Provides full-text access to articles from all journals published in a range of subjects including Politics & International Relations, Law, and Global Development.
A large database, indexing high quality journals and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and humanities and providing detailed citation analysis and citation searching.
Full-text access to Wiley journals and books. Covers business & economics, history, language & linguistics, literature & cultural studies, philosophy & religion, and sociology and psychology. Includes the Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions.
