SOCY2210 Research Methods

OAASC database is a comprehensive compendium focusing on the "lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture". The database includes encyclopedias, biographies, primary sources, images and more to support research in African and African Diaspora Studies.

Black Thought and Culture is a collection of non-fiction writings by major American black leadersteachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figurescovering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trail transcripts.

Premier index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of United States and Canadian History, from prehistory to the present. Coverage is 1910-present.

The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Much African American material.

Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The Includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.Much African American material.

Index to international literature covering public policy, social policy, and the social sciences.

A collection of scholarly books and journals across disciplines. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.

Covers U.S. ethnic and minority newspapers and other periodicals, many not in library print collections, from the late 1950s to the present. The full text of the article is available from the citation list produced by keyword searches. English and Spanish searching available.

Black Studies Center brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies, and the Black Literature Index.

Brings together seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. Covers history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.