ARTH 1109: Clues to Seeing: Public Art

Historic New England is a museum of cultural history that collects and preserves buildings, landscapes, and objects dating from the seventeenth century to the present and uses them to keep history alive and to help people develop a deeper understanding and enjoyment of New England life and appreciation for its preservation.

The National Trust for Historic Preservation's Northeast map links to over 175 historic sites in the New England region

The Bostonian Society is dedicated to studying, and preserving Boston’s uniquely important history, embodied in materials, records, and structures such as the Old State House, and in sharing an understanding of the revolutionary ideas born here.

The Boston Preservation Alliance is a nonprofit organization that protects and improves the quality of Boston’s distinct architectural heritage.

Historic Boston Incorporated is a non profit organization that works with local partners to identify and invest in the redevelopment of historically significant buildings and cultural resources in order to catalyze neighborhood renewa

The Esplanade Association (TEA) is a dynamic nonprofit collaboration of citizens working to protect, restore, and beautify Boston’s historic Charles River Esplanade.

The City Archives makes Boston's municipal archival records accessible to the public by means of document finding aids, reference procedures and the promotion of public use, and ensures ready access to essential evidence that documents the rights of citizens, the actions of municipal officials and Boston's historical municipal experience.

The Guide is organized by departmental record groups and provides brief historical information and descriptions of record series under each department. Links are provided to available finding aids throughout the Guide

links to documents including BRA Board of Directors Meeting Agendas, City Documents, Mapping and Cartography, Planning and Zoning, Urban Design

This material includes tax assessor’s records from 1789, Paul Revere’s tax bills, City Clerk files starting in 1629 and early manuscript records of Brighton, Charlestown, Dorchester, Hyde Park, and West Roxbury. Records before 1822 are accessed through Rare Books; records after 1822 are accessed through the Book Delivery Desk of the Research Library Stacks. The records cover the period 1896-1967 with street listings available up to 1942.

Information on Boston City Records, and Boston Architecture, including Boston Public Library Architectural Drawings, Charles Bulfinch, (1763-1844) Architectural Collection, Codman Collection, Copley Square Collection, Ralph Adams Cram (1863-1942) Collection, Maginnis and Walsh Collection and others

The collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States including photographs, documents and drawings. Browse by location: Massachusetts: Suffolk: Boston or search by name of building or architect

An online system that merges information about its immense collections of museum artifacts, archival documents, books, and periodicals in a single searchable database.

ORGO is an internet accessible database of information about existing records relating to Olmsted design work.

Art and Architecture; Literary, Cultural and Intellectual History Site. A forum for the work of historian and author Douglas Shand Tucci with links to e-scholarship.

The Historic District Commissions review proposed exterior design changes to properties located within the boundaries of each of the City’s nine Historic Districts to ensure that the unique historic and architectural character of these neighborhoods is protected and preserved.

Inspectional Services Department's Permit Retrieval system. This System enables users, such as contractors and home owners, to search for and retrieve historical permit records.

Massachusetts Historical Commission (MHC) was established by the legislature in 1963 to identify, evaluate, and protect important historical and archaeological assets of the Commonwealth. Information on historic properties and areas in the Commonwealth can be found by searching MACRIS, Massachusetts Cultural Resource Information System.

The Massachusetts Archives holds the official records created by Massachusetts state government. Holdings are organized by agency and date from 1629 to the present.

A number of documents published by the Boston Landmarks Commission are available, including Homeowner Handbooks for neighborhoods listed in the National Register of Historic Places, brochures outlining the history of Boston's neighborhoods, and How to Research an Historic Building in Boston,

In partnership with communities, the BRA plans Boston's future while respecting its past. We prepare our residents for new opportunities through training, human service and job creation. The BRA guides physical, social, and economic change in Boston's neighborhoods and its downtown to shape a more prosperous, sustainable, and beautiful city for all.

Information from the City of Boston

An online tour prepared by William Francis Galvin,
Secretary of the Commonwealth

Diagrams and texts of the various buildings and phases of renovations.

Information from the City of Boston

The Boston Atlas is the BRA's public internet mapping application. It includes data from many city agencies, including the Assessing Department and the Boston Water and Sewer Commission, as well as information from neighboring towns and state agencies. Information such as building footprints, planning areas, land parcels, and streets can be combined with aerial photography and historical maps to make custom maps.

Last updated in 2000, these maps provide pdf's of many, but not all of Boston's neighborhoods