African American Literature

This database provides the complete full texts of major 19th century African-American newspapers

This collection documents the efforts of African American activists in their international effort to abolish slavery in the United States. Covering the period 1830-1865, the 15,000-item collection records the full impact of African American efforts to oppose slavery by displaying the writings and publications of the activists themselves.

Selected primary source documents on the opposition African Americans have faced on the road to freedom in the United States. Topics include Slavery and Abolition, Civil war era, Jim Crow, Civil Rights, and Black Power movement, among others. Time period covered: 1790-present.

The Organizational Records and Personal Papers bring include records of major civil rights organizations (Southern Christian Leadership Conference, Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, and the National Association of Colored Womens Clubs) and personal papers of leaders and observers of the 20th century Black freedom struggle. Papers of civil rights leaders included in this module are those of the civil rights and labor leader A. Philip Randolph; the long-time civil rights activist and organizer of the March on Washington, Bayard Rustin, and the papers of the pioneering educator Mary McLeod Bethune. Through records of Claude A. Barnetts Associated Negro Press, also covers other aspects of African American life in the 20th century, like religion, sports, education, fraternal organizations, and even the field of entertainment.

Black Studies Center brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies, and the Black Literature Index.

Brings together seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. Covers history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.

Black Thought and Culture is a collection of non-fiction writings by major American black leadersteachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figurescovering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trail transcripts.

1909-1975. One of the most widely-read black newspapers in the United States.

ProQuest History Vault module focused on Black Freedom Struggle via the records of major civil rights organizations and personal papers of leaders and observers of the 20th century Black freedom struggle. The three major civil rights organizations are the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, and the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs. Papers of civil rights leaders included in this module are those of the civil rights and labor leader A. Philip Randolph; the long-time civil rights activist and organizer of the March on Washington, Bayard Rustin, and the papers of the pioneering educator Mary McLeod Bethune.

Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Consists of 11 collections from the Harvard Law School Library, highlighting three United States Supreme Court Justices, the first Black federal judge, high-profile cases, and insights into developing ideologies and laws, as far back as 1861 with the Papers of Oliver Wendell Holmes, which span from the Civil War to the Great Depression. The Papers of Louis D. Brandeis and Felix Frankfurter provide a behind-the-scenes view of the Supreme Court between 1919 and 1961. The Frankfurter Papers are of special note because they reveal how the Supreme Court approached the Brown v. Board of Education decision.

1922-1993. One of the nation's leading black newspapers.

OAASC database is a comprehensive compendium focusing on the "lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture". The database includes encyclopedias, biographies, primary sources, images and more to support research in African and African Diaspora Studies.

ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers offer essential primary source content and editorial perspectives of the most distinguished African American newspapers in the U.S. Explore the Harlem Renaissance to Civil Rights, and everyday life as written in the Chicago Defender, The Baltimore Afro-American, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Los Angeles Sentinel, Atlanta Daily World, The Norfolk Journal and Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, Cleveland Call and Post, and Michigan Chronicle.