Language Memory and Identity in the Middle East NELC2016/SOCY1148

Arabic Collections Online is a digital library of public domain Arabic language content. Funded by New York University Abu Dhabi, this mass digitization project aims to expose up to 15,000 volumes from NYU and partner institutions over a period of five years. NYU and the partner institutions are contributing all types of material—literature, business, science, and more—from their Arabic language collections. ACO will provide digital access to printed books drawn from rich Arabic collections of prominent libraries.

The Center for Research Libraries’ collection of Middle Eastern-related material encompasses significant runs of newspapers from every country, dissertations on the Arab world and Islam, monographs and serials acquired through early deposit, and archival and microform sets of primary source content. Highlights of the collection are Arabic Manuscripts, CIA Studies, Primary Sources for Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel & Palestinian Territories, Jordan, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Turkey. Search the CRL Catalog and request items from their holdings through BC Libraries interlibrary loan service.

Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy from the Yale Law School Avalon project.

Collection of telegrams, correspondence, minutes, memoranda and confidential prints gathered together in the India Office Military Department on Mesopotamia.

The World Digital Library is a Library of Congress project sponsored by UNESCO. Items in this digital library, including books, manuscripts, photographs, maps and sound recordings, are individually described and searchable in seven languages. Most countries and regions around the world are represented.

French colonial archives XVII-XX centuries

Print, visual, and digital collections covering various aspects of the history and politics of Algeria.

List of bilateral treaties and protocols. In French

Authoritative research guides leads researchers to the best available scholarship on Algeria.

Guide from the Electronic Journal of Africana
Bibliography includes an extensive section on Algeria on p. 20

A guide to archival resources on Algeria (created by Archives National d’Outre Mer).

This collection consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the American consular post in Jerusalem.

Original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1.

This collection contains Bush Presidential Records from a variety of White House offices.

An on-going project of the Middle East Documentation Center at the University of Chicago, the aim of which is to compile comprehensive bibliographies of all primary and secondary sources relating to the Mamluk sultanate of Egypt and Syria.

Primary source material on the Pahlavi Dynasty and 20th century Iran, including digitized photograph collections and online resources

Personal accounts of 134 individuals who played major roles in or were eyewitnesses to important political events in Iran from the 1920s to the 1980s

Records of U.S. Foreign Assistance Agencies.

This collection offers the widest range of original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974.

This collection contains materials related to the diplomatic and military response by the United States (as part of a multi-national force) to the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait on August 2, 1990. From George H.W. Bush Presidential Library.

This collection consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the American consular post in Beirut.

U.S. State Department Records on the internal affairs of Morocco

Digitization of the entire manuscript collection is in progress

This growing archive covers modern history and culture of the Gulf and wider region, available online for the first time.

U.S. National Archives Collection

Includes archival materials, images, maps, music, books, and more.

Provides data, a bibliography and more on prices, wages, taxes and currency in the Ottoman Empire

Digital archive of Ottoman periodicals from the Hakkı Tarık Us Collection, Beyazıt State Library, Istanbul.

The documents in The Cyprus Crisis, 1967 were collected and collated from a variety of State Department sources and represent an administrative history of the crisis from the perspective of the U.S. government and its foreign policy.

Primary source materials on the political, economic and social development of Turkey during a period of democratization in the 1950s.

Blog of primary source documents with commentary on Ottoman history