INTL494102: Human Rights in East Asia

Find Articles & Reports

Resources to support research in the seminar Human Rights in East Asia

Academic Articles and Ebooks

For a selection of excellent journals and some e-books on various topics in global history, we recommend a few databases. Remember to explore these database "advanced search" options for date and other modifiers before you run your searches.

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Premier index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of World History (Europe, Asia, Middle East, Africa, Latin America), from 1450 to the present. Coverage is 1955-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly ebooks and journals across disciplines. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full-text access to a large number of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by over 120 of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. In addition, UPCC Book Collections on Project MUSE, launched in January 2012, offer book-length scholarship, fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content. The Project Muse platform allows searching of books and journals in one place.

Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Core is the place to find valuable, useful and inspirational research and academic information. Includes journals and books across the humanities and sciences. Of particular note are the Cambridge Histories, the Cambridge Companions, and the Cambridge Handbooks.
De Gruyter This link opens in a new window
Based out of Berlin, De Gruyter has been publishing academic books and journals for more than 250 years. Their fields of focus include humanities (e.g., history, classics, ancient near east, philosophy, religion, and more), social sciences, medicine, mathematics, engineering, computer sciences, natural sciences, and law. This interface provides affiliates with access to Boston College's subscriptions to De Gruyter's journals as well as ebook and some open access material.
Oxford Academic This link opens in a new window
Oxford University Publisher's access point for their reference, journals, and books. Material covers arts and humanities (including history and theology); law; medicine and health; science and math; as well as the social sciences.
Taylor & Francis This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Online is the journal content platform for the Taylor & Francis Group. The site gives online access to all journals published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge, with a powerful search that makes it simple to discover the most relevant research for our readers. An extensive program of digitization means the site includes articles going back over 200 years, alongside todays cutting-edge discoveries.

Article Databases

Bibliography of Asian Studies | 亚洲研究文献目录 | Ya Zhou Yan Jiu Wen Xian Mu Lu This link opens in a new window
Contains titles on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Please note, since 1992, newly published individual monographs are no longer being added to the database.

Bibliography of Asian Studies™ (BAS)是研究东亚、东南亚和南亚（尤其是文学科和社会科学）最全面的西方语言书目数据库。数据库有超过900,000条引文信息，可追溯至1971年，其中包括40万多条引文信息可追溯至1992年所有条目均可按作者、标题、出版年份、出版地点、出版语言、期刊名称、国家/地区、主题、关键字、ISSN和ISBN轻松搜索涵盖许多重要期刊以及在编辑卷中的章节，包括未被其他资源编入索引的亚洲出版物利用独特的索引可访问已编辑卷、会议论文集、选集、节日主题和类似出版物资源
Supported Languages: Chinese and other languages
DBpia This link opens in a new window
DBpia is a full text database of academic articles published in Korea. With well over 3 million articles, the database features social sciences, Korean literature, History, and engineering. Most abstracts are in English, and roughly 30% of articles include English translations.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Source provides comprehensive coverage of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Studies. This database indexes more than 120 core periodicals and has fulltext for the 50 major GLBT journals and newspapers.It includes a significant number of core books & reference works. and Grey Literature is included. The database will include NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies.
ProQuest Social Science Journals This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Social Science Journals provides access to a variety of interdisciplinary social science journal articles, many of which are available in full-text.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research, 1972 and earlier to present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes citations and abstracts of the international serials literature in political science and its complimentary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy.