HIST 4123-01: Gender, Sex, & Power in Ottoman & British Empires

Getting Started

In this course, we will utilize the concept of gender as an analytical tool within the history of empires. We will cover gender theory, the construction of gender identity (male and female), sexuality, power, politics, and culture. To understand how gende

Welcome to "Gender, Sex, & Power in Ottoman & British Empires"

This page is an introductory guide to accessing scholarly and primary material on the topics for women in the Ottoman and British Empires as well as providing access to some suggestions in gender theory.

What's on This Page

Reference Shelf

Oxford Reference Online
This is a quick go-to for high-quality, short, dictionary style descriptions, definitions, facts, and figures. Great for date and name checking.

Reference Shelf: Biographies

Reference Works: Companions and Handbooks

Cambridge Histories - British & European History
This collection features multiple titles that feature as handbooks on topics such as European economic history, histories of violence and slavery, capitalism and communism as well as specific periods including the World Wars. They also include geographic/state focuses such as Ireland, Scandinavia, and Turkey, among others.
Cambridge Histories - Middle East & African Studies
This collection of histories functions as handbooks on state/geographic histories including Egypt, Iran, Turkey, and South Africa as well as religious/cultural series on Islam and Judaism.

Reference Shelf: Encyclopedia

Books: Find & Request from BC & Beyond

Your local libraries have excellent monographs and anthologies located in O'Neill library as well as through the BC libraries portal. Try searching for books (only books) through the WorldCat library system to see if we have what you need. If we don't, you can order material through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

WorldCat Catalog

Journal & eBook Databases

For a selection of excellent journals and some e-books on various topics in global history, we recommend a few databases. Remember to explore these database "advanced search" options for date and other modifiers before you run your searches.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly journals and ebooks across multiple disciplines. Content includes back issues and some current issues.
Project MUSE
Full-text access to a large number of scholarly journals and eBooks in the humanities and social sciences published by over 120 of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Historical Abstracts
Index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of World History (Europe, Asia, Middle East, Africa, Latin America), from 1450 to the present. Coverage is 1955-present. Some full text coverage.

Additional Recommendations

Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Core is the place to find valuable, useful and inspirational research and academic information. Includes journals and books across the humanities and sciences. Of particular note are the Cambridge Histories, the Cambridge Companions, and the Cambridge Handbooks.
De Gruyter This link opens in a new window
Based out of Berlin, De Gruyter has been publishing academic books and journals for more than 250 years. Their fields of focus include humanities (e.g., history, classics, ancient near east, philosophy, religion, and more), social sciences, medicine, mathematics, engineering, computer sciences, natural sciences, and law. This interface provides affiliates with access to Boston College's subscriptions to De Gruyter's journals as well as ebook and some open access material.
Oxford Academic This link opens in a new window
Oxford University Publisher's access point for their reference, journals, and books. Material covers arts and humanities (including history and theology); law; medicine and health; science and math; as well as the social sciences.
Taylor & Francis This link opens in a new window
Access to our T&F journals and other e-content. Includes more than 200 history journals with full or partial access. Keep in mind that BC affiliates can order articles we don't have through ILL.

History Liaison

Erin Kate Scheopner

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

O'Neill 314

617-552-3457

Subjects: African & African Diaspora Studies, History, Irish Studies, Latin American Studies

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

HIST 4123-01: Gender, Sex, & Power in Ottoman & British Empires

Getting Started

Welcome to "Gender, Sex, & Power in Ottoman & British Empires"

What's on This Page

Reference Shelf

Reference Shelf: Biographies

Reference Works: Companions and Handbooks

Reference Shelf: Encyclopedia

Books: Find & Request from BC & Beyond

Journal & eBook Databases

Additional Recommendations

History Liaison