Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Collection Development for Environmental Studies in the Boston College Libraries

:

Scope and Collecting Emphases

Criteria for collecting and maintaining materials in the subject area of Environmental Studies, with links to general library collection policies.

Guide to the Environmental Studies Collections

This collection serves the needs of the Boston College Environmental Studies Program,  faculty and students in related courses in the Woods College of Advancing Studies, and the general interests of the Boston College community. The Environmental Studies Bibliographer selects materials based on user requests, curricular needs and knowledge of the discipline. The bibliographer collaborates with the program director and acts on purchase requests by faculty whenever possible. 

Disciplinary Scope and Collecting Emphases

This collection spans all areas of Environmental Studies, but with emphases as shown below.  

 

A wide range of both academic and non-academic presses are represented in the collection.

Given the undergraduate teaching nature of the program, acquisitions focus on areas of high student engagement, such as:

  • Biodiversity
  • Climate change
  • Energy
  • Pollution
  • Sustainability
 
 

 

Materials are also purchased to support all areas of the curriculum.

The program is highly interdisciplinary, drawing faculty from across the University, so there is extensive collaboration with other bibliographers in managing this collection. Interdisciplinary work is expected to increase with creation of the Schiller Institute.