ENGL8887 : Introduction to Advanced Research

Biographies

American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Scholarly biographical articles with short bibliographies on deceased notable Americans. Most articles have pictures of the subjects.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. Numerous literary figures are included.

Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Online biographical reference database in all fields. Literature is well represented.
Cambridge Dictionary of Irish Biography This link opens in a new window
The Dictionary of Irish Biography is a collaborative project between Cambridge University Press and the Royal Irish Academy and includes articles that describe persons in all fields, including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment. and sport.

Contemporary Writers (British Council)
Contains up-to-date profiles of some of the UK, Commonwealth and Republic of Ireland's most important living writers. Included are biographies, bibliographies, critical reviews, prize information and photographs. Profiles are searchable by author, genre, nationality, publisher and book title.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors (novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers) from every age and literary discipline.
Marquis Biography Online This link opens in a new window
International in scope, this database includes biographies of people in business, law, science, medicine, the arts, government, and entertainment. Updated daily, this source also includes biographies that have appeared in 24 Marquis Who's Who print titles since 1985, plus historical biographies from our Who Was Who in America volumes from 1607-1985.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is an illustrated collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies of significant men and women in all areas of British history, from the fourth century BC to the present.
Something About the Author
Comprehensive online access to all volumes of Gale's™ Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults.

Page from the 14th-century Luttrell Psalter,