EESC1717/HIST1617: Making the Modern World

Resources by Topic

Resources for each topic!

Use the drop down menu on the lefthand side to find pages about each of your project topics. Reach out to the librarian(s) if you need additional help!

Humanities & Social Sciences General Resources

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
PsycINFO 1840-current This link opens in a new window
The database provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The online resource includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
ProQuest Political Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to leading political science and international relations journals. This collection covers such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Premier index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of United States and Canadian History, from prehistory to the present. Coverage is 1910-present.

Sarah Barbrow

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

O'Neill Library 313
Boston College

617-552-0164

Subjects: Computer Science, Economics, Engineering, Mathematics

General Engineering Resources

Compendex This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines. To limit to Compendex within the Engineering Village platform, check the appropriate box in the top left under "Databases."

Google Patents
Google Patents includes over 120 million patent publications from 100+ patent offices around the world - including in the United States, Europe, Japan, China, WIPO, Russia, the United Kindgom, and many others.

SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
The Technology Collection includes the Advanced Technology & Aerospace Collection, the Materials Science Collection, and the Engineering Collection, and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a large database, indexing high quality journals and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and humanities and providing detailed citation analysis and citation searching, It covers from 1900 to the present, and is global in scope.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database. Use it for author, subject and citation searching in a wide array of disciplines. Find H-Index information, compare journal impact data, and analyze publication and citation trends. Scopus provides comprehensive coverage of a large number of journals from 1996 - present, with added older content.

Smithsonian Collection: Trade Literature and the Merchandizing of Industry
The evolution of business is inextricably linked with American and international history and identity. For the first time, researchers can now explore this aspect of American and international life via catalogs, pamphlets, advertising materials, and ephemera on essential industries that emerged in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries -- steam engines, railroads, motorized vehicles, agricultural/farm machinery, building and construction, mining, and more.

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

EESC1717/HIST1617: Making the Modern World

Resources by Topic

Resources for each topic!

Humanities & Social Sciences General Resources

Sarah Barbrow

General Engineering Resources